top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

15.Our.Race.Horse

This week I had another midwife appointment and it was the first time that I heard our baby’s heartbeat on the Doppler and OMG I am in love! I recorded it for Nic as he was at work but found myself listening to it over and over. I couldn’t wait for him to get home so I could show him! Ahhhh best sound in the world! It sounds like a galloping race horse, so fast!! I'm going to look forward to this every appointment hehe.


Life is pretty full on being pregnant and each day is so different, its hard to plan or know how you will feel to commit to things. Things are starting to change more quickly now that I am in the second trimester. I have had a few new symptoms like veins being visible on the ever growing tummy, my boobs have grown 2 cup sizes (I have had a good laugh about this with the girls as some people look forward to this in pregnancy but for me its such a pain as mine were big enough for my body already haha!) slight lower back pain developing especially when sleeping and I've moved into the weepy stage where I get very overwhelmed - VERY EASY (so weird for me as normally I can handle my shit pretty well!).


Ive learnt that sleep deprivation starts before birth (well before, yes I'm talking about it already!)

I generally sleep like crap at night and then it piles up in the afternoon and as soon as Nic turns his back I am KO'd on the couch (generally in some unflattering position, overheating haha). I know they say its your bodys way of preparing you for what is ahead, but come on can I please sleep for more than 2 hours straight and maybe when I do wake up not take another hour to fall back to sleep! I'm already going through a lot of other symptoms, give me a break baby - Or in second thoughts throw it all at me now and then be an angel when you’re here? Yessssss


Something that has come highly recommended and for me is time out every Saturday AM with one of my besties to re-cap on the weeks developments and release any tension is pre-natal yoga aka Pregnancy Yoga. We go to Yoga West in Titarangi to the most beautiful sessions that are designed in slow movements for changing bodies and to prepare your breathing and mind for labor and birth (I still don’t think about that though part haha). I come out of there feeling so relaxed, at ease and stronger again to battle whatever baby & life throw at me the next week :)

What it did make me realise (which I secretly already knew but don't admit) is that hockey players have the most in-flexible hamstrings! Ugh honestly I must look like a right-angle triangle compared to all the U-bolts in the class haha!


We also started the nursery this weekend which was exciting! – Well the tradie in my life did, the whole thing was very overwhelming for me (No idea why) so I sobbed in Mitre 10 when choosing our wood measurements about how lucky I am to have a man beside me who can do this for me vs hiring someone haha! How ridik I even went for a walk down a pipes isle to gather myself so I didn't fall into a crying heap in the shop hahahaha. So the walls are now our agreed shade of grey and the wardrobe is being built as we speak but the design and floor plans we have are perfection, that wont come as a surprise for those that know Nic (See he is amazing – I may be weeping why I write this, I SWEAR it’s the hormones).



Side notes this week:

I stay up late one night and its sooo unfair I feel SO hungover the next day! And baby daddy gets to drink and wake up feeling better than me – WTF haha!


I just pulled a bloody muscle sneezing while writing this which I have now found out happens WAY easier when your growing a human as your body softens all its ligaments and muscles around the areas that grow to ensure they can stretch safely etc – something else to add to the “list” of be carefuls when your preggers! Lets be honest I'm never going to remember them all! Anyway that’s quite sore as its on my left side and moving all the bloody time!


Until next week

-A x

147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page