top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

12.Growing.Up.Too.Fast


Another week has crept by and my little baby is not looking or acting as little anymore! Sometimes I look at her and the way she responds I choke up a little knowing this baby wont be a baby for very long. I cant sweat it enough to cherish every little moment because everyone says it but it's TRUE- it goes soooo fast! This week I have a little girl that now holds and can shake a rattle, pulls her own soft toys and cuddles up to her face to snuggle, splashes in her bath and drinks from a larger flow bottle. See what I mean!? Shes growing up soooo fast 😭💙


Transfering her to a faster flow bottle has been a big process haha she was taking sooooo long on her first one and sucking so hard that when you put a faster one on she still does the same and coughs and splutters and spills milk everywhere haha but shes getting the hang of it! All those bibs have now come out though haha!

Something this week that I adored was having a bath with Kinsley, she loves bath time so we put her in the big bath with me! (After I forgot that I had a face mask on and grabbed her from the playmat 😅 she looked atmem, the lip quivered and she burst into tears so scared haha!) It was this sense of warmth and comfort for me as a mama having that skin to skin again, a moment I'll cherish. Next week we are going to have shower time with her dadda ❤ She wears her little bracelet from nana and poppa all the time now and it doesnt bother her at all! I also wear my matching ones 24/7 😍 the first of so many matchings to come hehe!

We spent most of the week in Ohakune with Nana and Poppa and it was a scorcher! You think being at the base of a mountain would be the perfect place to ride out a heatwave, turns out 30 degrees anywhere is hot as f***! We headed up the mountain to swim in the waterfall pools each day and bubba even hopped in with us! It's so refreshing swimming in running fresh water surrounded by nature 🙌🏻 we sure do live in a beautiful place!

The boys biked up the mountain - hardest thing they have ever done! 1000ft up over 17km but apparantly well worth the adrenaline hit flying back down (at 76kmph eeeek) they crazy!! Baby Daddy is already so excited for when Kinsley can have a bike haha!

Post long weekend Nic headed back to AKL for work but bubba had been very unsettled with gas so I didnt want to face the car trip back so us girls stayed on at hotel Hekkens 🙊 its like a holiday for me as nana and poppa play, walk and cuddle to sleep Kinsley so I manage to be a fully functional human ha! I really love being away from the city and just pretending I dont have to ever go back to work or face traffic and a desk job haha. it's a while away yet but it already scares me that I will have to be away from my baby during the week!! So me and Kinsley hoppe on the train home (her first train ride hehe) and meet daddy at the other end! It was such a beautiful trip (well until Hamilton then the scenery is not that special through to the big smoke ha! Well little Kinsley loved the train so much she decided it would be cool to be awake for 6.5 of the 7 hours 😅 with a couple of little naps where I was able to sit and shake my arms lol otherwise it was a workout standing and holding her the ONE way she wanted haha #mumlife due to the heat wave the train had to run slower and stop more often so it took and extra hour! This was the stressful part because bubba was SO overtired by then she wanted to cry and scream and funny enough its hard to pace corridors on a wobbly train haha a d having a carriage full of people makes ya nervous when she doesnt stop! But it was still a cool way to travel and when shes not full newborn I think it will be easier! Daddy was at the platform waiting and was so excited to see his little girl and talked to her the whole way home about how cute she was and her trip, you can tell he missed her 💕 He then took over dinner and bedtime and let me go get maccas 🙌🏻

One more week and this newborn is no longer eeeek the end of the fourth trimester is in sight 😳

-Ax


Tips this week:

- Make Daddy do tummy time with bubba as then they dont seem to hate it as much ha! Especially when he makes plane noises 😍

- For bebes first rattle get a super light one but with a handle vs the soft cricular ones, its easier for them to keep hold of a handle to start off with but when they drop it on themselves it doesnt hurt ha!

- Make a rule that whoever baby poos on has to change her then watch baby daddy squirm when she grunts and shits herself 5x in one nappy 😂 that is what we call a poonami in this family ha! And look at how she gets carried when she does one on daddy hahah gold 🙌🏻

- Address online shopping and couriers to your baby haha then it's harder for baby daddy to get mad cause you didnt do it the sprog did 😋 Kinsleys got great taste!


98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page