top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

5.Kinsleys.First.Cold


Yay this week Kinsley was back on the boobie! My antibiotics had finally cleared out of my system so Bebe was back in action. What this does mean is that we are mixed feeding, so she is feedng off me for about 7 feeds a day then her night feeds are still formula until my supply builds back up.

We have really been establishing a routine (not time driven at this age but process eg change, feed, wrap, settle) to differentiate day vs night and it’s worked really well for us, this week Kinsley has been sleeping 4-5 hour stints in her first night sleep! So we will lap it up while it lasts as no doubt it will change haha! Key differences being we wrap her at night for deeper sleep encouragement vs day where she can be free which means more napping, also the bigger bottle feed at night with smaller more frequent feeds during the day - That stint of sleep is AMAZING 🙌🏼


We we had a couple of family outings this week which were so nice! It Now takes us half the day to get ready ha and thats not even putting effort into ourselves 😂 but we made it and that’s the main thing! Firstly we had Nics work Xmas BBQ which was at one of the teams house so made it nice and easy to feed and change etc #smallwins it was so cute to see Nic carry in his baby girl proud as punch! Kinsley did so well and we managed 5 hours which was awesome! So good for Daddy to sink some beers and just hang out with friends after a big year! We also then had a catch up with our antenatal crew (we need a new name as we are more then that now ha!) at Cornwall park for coffees and baby hangs - so cute seeing the squad roll in, so many buggies and babies in one place! Beautiful avo in the summer sun to end the weekend.

Ok so... Newborn congestion - the scariest thing ever! (Well the first time at least!) Its like re-living night one at home again I was so scared she would suffocate in her sleep and I wouldnt wake up if it happend. I called the Plunket/health line in the wee hours as it only hit Kinsley at around midnight! So we now have her bed on a 45 degree angle (this freaks me out too as even though her feet are at the bottom of the pod I worry she will slip down in her wrap) And we must also ensure she feeds more then normal to help her through the night, GP visit scheduled for tomorrow. But let’s be honest I will not be sleeping or taking my eyes off her until daybreak!


My 4am musings - I am so thankful the help line is 24/7 and the ladies on the end of the line are so sweet at keeping you calm at 2am!! 🙌🏻 I had to collect myself to call as I had been sobbing while trying to make a a decision to call, go to ED or attempt to sleep with her like that. I feel more relaxed after the call knowing she will cry if she fully blocks up (I'm not sure I fully believe it though) but I still lay here wide awake listening to every congested breathe, paranoid having a full blown mum freak out inside! I even keep shunting Nic telling him to stop breathing loud so I can only hear kinsley #physcomama. She had a slight cough and a small sniffle this morning and I should have stuck to my gut and taken her to the doctors but I doubted myself, I told myself I was being a pedantic mama and to see how she went. Sure enough the day was ok as she barely slept but it got worse tonight didnt it #karma so it's now 4am and I'm paying for it laying here listening to the poor bebe and shitting bricks.

Turns our Kinsley has her first cold, we have some saline nose spray to keep the snot coming out and her airways free and then Pamplona if needed to help her sleep at night. She should be better in a few days 💕

-Ax


Tips this week:

- When baby is asleep in the afternoon even if it’s 2pm prep your dinner haha! Cause if you don’t no doubt you will get caught out and that Uber eats bill will sky rocket. Babies have this great body clock that needs you full undivided attention at dinner time haha! I must admit I have loved being back to cooking this week though its something I really enjoy!

- Lap up every post partum visit you have with your midwife as they go so fast and they truely are super helpful and amazing at starting your new life as a parent off! We had our final visit with Brooke this week and I got super emotional saying goodbye, I mean she has been part of Kinsleys life since she was a wee cell and really has been amazing! Our final checks were all healthy and Kinsley departs her care weighing 4.8kgs and is measuring quite tall like her daddy at 57cm so all tracking well.

- If you are like me and find that the work week piles up on you and by Friday your exhausted and grumpy haha maybe pre warn you’re baby daddy that when he gets home he will be on cuddle and baby duty so you can just relax haha (it helps to pass them a baby with an ice cold beer when they walk in the door ha!) I am super grateful Nic loves being a dadand is so supportive and helpful whenever I need but I do try and let him sleep on weeknights so Jean as fresh as possible we with a newborn for work - I do love the weekends though as then he will do the graveyard feed in the night so I can get a couple hours extra sleep which is bliss 🙌🏼

- Have one of your besties pregnant at the same time as you 😂 because that way your bubba has a bestie from the get go (bonus points if you have a boy & girl then they canewbornnewbo boyfriend and girlfriend hehehe) This is Harry Kinsleys bf 😍


99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page