top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

7.5.Its.Time.Ash.Its.Time

Updated: Jun 26, 2019

Ok so its getting super real that my baby is growing up and my year of maternity leave is now on the downward slope. Everyone says you should think about daycare options when pregnant and pop your name on waiting lists (its true they are real and do have HUNDREDS of kids on them!) but I didn't quite believe it and also didn't want to think about it, I mean I had a WHOLE YEAR off - thats ages right!? Wrong its not long enough 😭 I have been putting looking into daycare options off so much because I get in my head about it, like I will be sending an 11M old baby who can't even talk and lets be honest I don't even know what she wants sometimes haha to strangers multiple days a week! But unfortunately its reality in todays society its super hard to afford to take time off with your little ones and I do feel grateful that we made it work for us so I got a year as some don't even get that luxury! *Rant ahead - One thing that has been pissing me off lately is how people keep saying "you musn't be tight on money Kinsley has SO much labeled and nice stuff, you must spend a fortune, you must want to go back to work not need to" well not that its any of anyones business but I built a successful career before becoming a mama and was on a great salary and while pregnant I purchased most things for baby Fels and then put aside money for some girl or boy things depending what we had so sorry to disappoint but I don't spend a lot now! (Plus her family spoil her!) We actually made the decision to take a loan for me to have a full year off! Anyway rant over all the Susans who care so much about my financial situation can jog on...👏🏻

Anyway I have got my ass into gear and have been looking into daycares around our area and have a couple of visits lined up, although when the first prospective pack arrived in the mail I sat down and burst into tears! I just wish I could be a SAHM a bit longer 😥 But I am slowly getting used to the idea, hugely helps that Kinsley is such a little social girl so I know she will be ok! Its such a hard tension of wanting to earn to provide a better future for your family but then not wanting to miss a moment of those first precious years they grow so fast, well for me it is anyway (trust me I have toyed with the decision of earning just what we need so I have more time vs enough to save and invest in a better future!) So yup some nights my brain and emotions are in a muddle with every option flying around but mostly my days are spent soaking up EVERY moment and change in this little ones life and this last fortnight has been AMAZING! 🥰🙌🏻

We have our first teeth woooo! 🦷🧚🏼‍♀️ The bottom left we could see making its way up to the surface ready to cut for over a week, started as a little hole/bubble, then a line, then turned white and then BOOM overnight it cut through (Kinsley was clearly not too phased as she slept 7-5 hahahaha! The bottom right cut 2 days after the first but was just all of a sudden there, so now she has two cute little bottom teeth that are slowly popping higher and higher 💜 like little walrus teeth haha! This also meant that its time to start showing her the sensation of brushing her teeth and gums - we got one of the Haaka 360 silicone toothbrushes and each night in the bath we brush her little teethys and then she chews on it briefly (I say brushing or brush brush so she learns the cues) and then we carry on with bath time. Highly recommend them as you can rotate to brush which is easy when a baby just wants to put their tongue on it or eat it hahah! 😂

After our month off with being sick and going away to Kune we finally got back into swimming - Thanks Aunty! And Kinsley is now in the Tadpole class and goes every week. She LOVES her instructor Nicole and smiles and chats every time she sees her (and even is her demo baby cause shes happy to be with her haha!) Its so cool seeing them learn water skills so young and like anything that is part of your routine they pick it up so quickly! She kicks like a frog and knows to relax when floating on her back - Hasn't quite nailed the closing eyes when you pour water on her head she just laughs and trys to lick it off her face 😋 Ahwell at least she doesn't mind right haha!? We are looking to do a weekend class soon so Dadda can come and see the little fish in action - our bath isn't quite big enough to show off to him after work 😂🐬

We had our 7M Plunket visit, these are every few months now and I still get so excited to see how shes growing and what they think of her! Kinsley had another massive growth spurt +3cm in height, +1.5cm head circumference and 220g in weight. She is still tracking super tall and perfect weight for her proportion. I have to giggle though as she doesn't have any form of a booty , its all nappy haha - Just like her bloody dad hopefully that will get a bit more peachy like her mamas when shes older 🍑😋 gotta love a bitta booty gal! Her head doesnt look big as its in proportion but shes gone out of baby beanies and into kids hahahha - now that she does get from mama (sorry darling haha!). Plunket adored her and said she is developing perfectly (she shows off when people visit us at home and was rolling everywhere and chatting away) and that shes very social and happy! So I had a nice glass of rose that night to celebrate because you know what I am a good mama and she is doing well because of me and her dadda! #celebratethewins 🥂

We had the most lovely weekend with Oma, Great Oma, Aunty Caity and Kinsleys little cousins where we went up to Matakana and did lunch, a trail sculpture walk and the markets. Kinsley loved being surrounded by them all, especially her cousins she laughs and plays with them and its so cute. Ty my oldest nephew is at her side 24/7 and helps me feed, entertain and cuddle her it melts my heart! Kinsley had her first winery lunch (carrots and pumpkin haha) and showed off and ate the whole lot... fast forward to post car ride and bedtime milk and it ended up all over her, me the floor and bunny haha! ooops who said they stop when they are full 🤢😂

A HUGE FIRST for us this week was Kisnleys hair is long enough to have her first fountain - I die! 😍😭

This is like my dream haha - closely followed by us wearing mama & mini scruchies (watch this space 😋) It was so bloody adorable and amazing how lifting the hair off her forehead changed her face and expressions so much, looks much more like a little princess thats for sure! I have had to control myself to not make her have one everyday hahaha (just every 2nd oh and for the first three days ooops!) This was probably my highlight of the month and then she learnt how to drink from a straw (her bbox drink bottle) and that was too much cuteness to handle also, she loves water so was very pleased with herself and now doesnt want mamas help ha! Even Dadda was pretty blown away when we showed him and melted (I could see it inside mwahaha)

Anyway safe to say we have had a pretty epic couple of weeks over here and are loving our little life together - So crazy seeing IG memories pop up that this time last year we were over 20W pregnant and hadn't even met our beautiful little girl - Starting a family really is amazing 🥰

More first time mama musings soon

-A x

PS - WE WENT FLOWER GIRL SHOPPING FOR AUNTIES WEDDING AND OMFG IT WAS ADORABLE! Dresses all ordered for September eeeeeeek!! #imatease #notseeingnothing #bridesquad 👰🏼

Tips for the week:

- Use your children mwahahahahaha (calm down susan I'm not making her scrub the floors or anything yet) use them for keepsakes and memories for those that are special in their lives. It was Aunty Sams birthday this month and we made her a sign and snapped a pic with it, that way it will last forever in the clouds and is super cute to look back on for all!

- Teething rusks are EPIC and they actually help teeth that are close to cut faster as they rub it all over the gums which relieves pain but helps draw them up. We have the only organic ones and they have been fab! Also a good thing to have in your nappy bag for if your having coffee or lunch out to keep them entertained in a high chair 😊

- Get EPIC mama friends! Our Coffee group is so lucky to have a beautiful mama Fi who just kills it in thinking of creative ways to entertain and develop the little ones! She held a sensory afternoon at hers for all our babes where she made them their own colured gelatine containers to explore, cooked up coloured pasta to play with and oats to touch & feel. It was JUST AMAZING. Seeing the babies all expolre in their own ways was beautiful - My sassy child proded the jelly with her fingers and screwed her nose up LOL LOL LOL but did like being rained on with spaghetti! (until mama dropped it on her face then she froze and dagger eyed me like wtf woman haha!) 😂

159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page