top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

9.0.Mama.And.Mini.Go.Solo

Updated: Aug 12, 2019

Us gals went on our first SOLO roadie to visit nana and poppa in Ohakune and we nailed it! Kinsley was an actual dream, like you know when they make you so proud you could burst? That was me on Saturday afternoon as we drove into nana and poppas. We left Auckland and had one stop in Otorahonga (half way basically) for lunch, nappy change and a play at the playground and that's it! So 4.5 hours in the car is pretty amazing! The park at Otorahonga is epic and when shes older will be the perfect pit stop it has such cool swings and things!

We had the best couple of days hanging with nana and poppa and this mama even got to get back on a snowboard after a few years off and it felt so good (although back to learning again hahah!) I had my on mountain baby sitters hanging in the cafe with Kisnley (I wont say why poppa wasn't on skis but let's just say he cant right now hahahaha) and so the best part was when I came up for a break I got to hang with my mini future shredder ✌🏻 so cool!

Now that K is old enough and sits well enough to hold herself up we were able to go to Ohakune carrot playground and pop Kinsley in the swings (a nice walk through town & across the river for lunch nap too!) and show nana and poppa how much she loves them - Like swinging is LIFE she just adores it haha! Now she is a little older she also loves watching and being by Tinky our little family toy poodle, she chats to her and Kinsley gives her face kisses back hahaha! Too cute, she will be chasing her soon though.. look out! 😋

The trip home was good too and we had one super excited dadda when he walked in the door from work! My heart melted watching them play until bedtime, he worked 95% of the weekend hence why we went for a mini holiday but it's always harder on him being here without us to come home to just an empty home - but he did get a sleep in hehe!

Honestly weaning is hard like my kid just ain't that keen on actual food so when I wean back milk she starves and is so shitty! Like food is yum girl I wish I was offered it that much 😂 sometimes it takes me an hour to feed her half a cup hahahah! By now shes meant to be primarily solids and shes still not eeek. It's the one thing that I get in my head about like am I doing something completely wrong or is there a trick I'm missing!? Nope my child just loves milk? Who bloody knows but I'm trying and she deff ain't malnourished so our world is algood right!? Next step food as soon as she wakes from 12 hours without a bottle and then see what happens haha 👏🏻

We do like Yoghurt as a snack or a smoothie some days which saves my ass!😅

We had our second round of the Menz B vaccination last week and faaaaark it sucks for a couple of days! Like it's so hard when they don't feel well but to my family a few days on unhappiness and the grind is worth protecting our little ones life. Menz kills babies so to us it's a no brainer! Kinsley is actually a champ with injections like she cried for 15.7425 seconds then smiled and waved goodbye to the doctor 😂 and shes pretty good with handling feeling crap she just starts to refuse sleeps and then gets overtired and upset at herself as she wants to sleep 🤦🏼‍♀️ so it's always a coffee fueled week off the back of it ha!

Ya'll know I like to dress Kinsley a million times better than myself and I actually make an effort when we go out (with her still not often me hahahaha - well a shirt without food or poo on it counts right!?) Well its super exciting at the moment as she's moved out of her 3-6 month clothing and is now going into her bigger pieces I have been waiting for her to fit for SO LONG haha! My fav at the moment is her little peach ribbed dress and the her pink & grey jumpsuit style onsies. I also have a pair of white daisy sunglasses that are just insanely ADORABLE, she doesn't keep them on for long but we are getting there hehe👏🏻

Baby K since learning to wave does it non stop haha - wake up wave, talk wave, eat wave but has also now added clapping, everytime you mention the word she does it or if we say yay when she does something good she claps for herself ha! Some days she even claps every mouthful of she takes or each time she turns a page in her book - too cute! The other thing shes playing with a lot is sounds or things that make music, her little xylaphone she likes playing with when dadda is home as she trys to copy him (and does pretty bloody well at it too!) especially with dragging the drum stick across to make high to low sounds, maybe she will be super talented with rhythm just like him too!

Sorry this is late, meaning we I will next write in a week but its been sitting here ready to go but I was too pre occupied planning my baby sisters hens party eeeeek!

Chat soon

-A x

Tips for the week:

- Soak a prune in water overnight then strain into a drink bottle and feed sips to bubba throughout the day to help loosen bowls! (Thanks mama max hehe!) As babes eat more solids and when down milk they can get super backed up!

- When you baby gives you something they aren't actually giving it to you, like they want that shit back and like within 15 seconds 😂 it's all fun and games until mama keeps the spoon or toy for 2 seconds to long hahahhaha!

- Be proud of your everyday mum wins, like celebrate that shit! Would you celebrate nailing a preso in your job - yes and everyday things are that equivalent for a SAHM. Like kn Saturday Nc was working and i had to take our cat to the vets and its was manic organizing her and Kisnley but I did it and you know what that's bloody awesome and a win!

- Utilise bath time to its full, K loves her bath and once we have washed she gets playtime in there, so I pop on a face mask (once a week) pour a wine and sit next to her - its a win win and can help entertain them when it comes to the horrid getting dressed time too!

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page