top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

9.5.Grateful 

These past two weeks we have had so so much to be grateful for, from the big to the little and to just being healthy and here đŸ–€ sometimes we get so busy and so caught up in life or in this path of life the mum world and we worry about the little things or our little ones futures and so on, all valid but we just have to remind ourselves to live in the moment and enjoy the time we have with who we love and build the life you want for your little family.

Every week goes faster and it feels like everyday Kinsley is doing something new, I know I dont have much time left of being a SAHM so I have found myself really absorbing these little (or big) moments, maximising the playdates with our beautiful friends and just sneaking that extra morning snuggle in mama and daddas bed while I can. I turned 28 this week and although I dislike getting older haha I ended the day feeling proud of myself for who I have grown into, the people I have surrounded myself with and the little family I have started to grow and that makes me happy đŸ™ŒđŸ»

For those that know me well I am ALL about birthdays haha your one special day a year, so being the extra leo I am I have birthday month hahahaha and then a big birthday week (I always take a week off to go away or something) the bonus is this year I didn't have to use annual leave as SAHM don't even get paid 😂 Well this year me and my little sis took our first girls roadie with Kinsley and went down to mum and dads mid week and had a couple of days like the old times with just us and mum and dad, it was so nice! Lots of shit talking, laughs and ganging up on dad just like we used too hahahaha #daughtersonly at one point I think he remembered what it was like to have no males in the house and we left him up at happy hour for another hour 😂

Then the boys joined us in the weekend and we got an EPIC couple of days in up the mountain, as usual my birthday was a complete bluebird but this year Kinsley is earthside so I actually have a board strapped to me on the chairlift rather than a growing human! Kisnley spent the days hanging with her Nana and they had the best time (I always get photo updates hehe) they walked so Kisnley could see the mountain mama and dadda were up, played on her favourite little orange swing in Ohakune (so close to mum and dads!), tried a peice of whole banana and she had so much fun she even saved a massive poonami for nana (it vacated all other residents in the house hahaha!). She now also looks around saying Nan-Nan 😍

We had Kinsleys first All Blacks Jersey (dress until she can fit an official one haha) and she wore it around town all day leading into Bledisloe 2 just like mama did as a wee one and the Hekkens team still do! She looked super cuuuute and was deff the good luck charm đŸ‰đŸ–€

Solids update - WE ARE EATING yay! 3 meals and one snack woooooooo (no bottle when wakes was a success) and only 1/4 of it is generally tricking her with a toy or letting her have it from a squeezy pouch 😂 I'll take that as a win. So we have dropped one bottle so far but she needs to ramp up the eating before I cut the avo one haha! But we are getting there and I'm not as scared with finger foods either so shes experimenting heaps and using her little teethies! (Yup still only the two, we must have more on the horizon soon!?)


It was Aunty Jess' bridal shower which I have been working on for months and this mama had the weekend off and Kisnley had Dadda time. The whole day went amazing and my sister looked absolutely beautiful 😍😭 Nic and Kinsley had heaps of fun and they had new little games together when I woke up the next day, she now knows how to high five and play proper peek-a-boo! Safe to say this mama was HUNGOVER the next day and I got a sleep in thanks to Dadda and also scrambled eggs delivered (forced to eat, for my own good hahah!) And a lunchtime nap! Kinsley was a little confused that I kept waving to her from bed or the couch but wasn't up and about haha, I made up for all the lost cuddles before bed that night hehe ❀

Other new things that K is doing

- She now moo's when she sees a cow in a book or a toy. Her little lips go into a straight line and she forces it out - TOO CUTE

- Dadda and her swimming teacher taught her to high five and she now does it but just holds her hand up for you to do the high fiving haha!

- Her first word was Dad/Dadda and now when he works in from work she says DAD! And waves to him (sometimes she also does this in the morning to the builders wearing high vis next door 😂 bless)

-She can find her bunny when you ask her where bun bun is or If you tell her bunny wants a cuddle 💕

- Shes starting to get onto her knees and push her bum up but not yet rocking or crawling

- Can take her donuts off the tower one by one vs just pushing the whole thing over so they fall off

Honestly it's so crazy how much they learn and so quickly at this age! I Cant keep up haha!

Anyway I'm off to brace myself for leap 7 lol.

-A x


Tips for the week:

- If your babe is obsessed with Jellycat bunnies like mine is make sure you get a big one (thanks nana & Poppa) cause when they start to move freely it's perfect for them to cuddle and lounge around on! We have ours in the lounge now and K loves it!

- Find supermamas as friends like I have haha! One of Kisnleys little besties always brings her new finger foods to try and her mama makes them all! We tried baby muffins which Kinsley inspected by prodding it (as per 😂) then loved!

- Rice Puffs for little ones are not as scary as they look haha! As it doesn't take long for them to become soft or soggy haha! I finally let Kisnley try one and it was a success! Pro tip is they are delish so I sneak a few as mama snacks too đŸ‘đŸ»


73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page