top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

9.She.Giggled.And.My.Heart.Melted


Jan 6th - SHE GIGGLED like actually LAUGHED and I cried haha. Happy tears hahahah. Nic had her facing me dancing around the lounge and I was being silly in her face singing and first she made a single noise then she tried again and it was a full on giggle and our hearts melted. We looked at each other and smiled ear to ear 😍 THE BEST THING EVER!!

Baby girl is now officially 2 months old, and you know what the experience of labour and bringing her into this world is already starting to fade (so I understand why people have more than one baby now 😂). Kinsley has really started to establish a routine now with sleeping at night and her morning naps. Each night after her bath around 7pm she has playtime then her dinner milkies before going down around 9pm for the night - generally she then wakes around 3am for a feed, change and back down until morning (6:30am) we then wake change, feed, play and she will grizzle and start to snuggle when shes ready for her morning nap (9am ish). Its adorable now that she must realise being wrapped means snuggly sleep time, because she will grizzle and when I pick her up she nuzzles into my neck cause shes tired so I wrap her and shes instantly happy and the eyes start to drift! It's such a feeling of accomplishment learning to settle her without food!! I get this feeling of excitement and also being proud that I've done it and made her feel content, loved and comfy enough to go to sleep without it. Such a good confidence boost. But the first half an hour once down is nerve wracking it's like a bomb ticking and your waiting ti see if it will explode or be disarmed (aka wake or sleep hahaha)!! But when it stays asleep its THE BEST feeling of accomplishment ever (I celebrate the small wins with a chocolate treat or small wine haha) and then relax before going to sleep myself ha!!

I have started putting her down in her cot for her morning naps with the hope she will get used to that space in her nursery, that way when we transition her from our room at night it will seem familiar and be less disruptive. We have successfully napped in there every morning this week varying from 40-70minute sleeps #mumwin speaking of mum wins this also happened..

mg its 5:30am on January 5th and I cant believe it. I'm sitting here feeding kinsley her bottle after she woke at 5:15am - FOR THE FIRST TIME since going to bed at 9:15 😳 I feel energetic like she should get up and play with ms ha as I've had 6 hours of sleep straight #whoami. I heard her stir at 1:30 but she settled back down! What a little princess even if it's just a one off! 😅❤

It was one of my good friends birthdays on the weekend and she had a BBQ to celebrate, unfortunately Kinsley decided not to sleep that day and didnt want to make an appearance so Daddy sent this mama alone and baby free! I had a lovely time relaxing and catching up with the crew for a couple of hours but it's crazy how much you miss your little bebe just in a few hours! I was excited ro walk through the front door and see her little face (she even smiled at me when I got home = cue heart melt).

It was a pretty epic week of parenting this week and watching our little girl blossom but this mama did have one major low... The shower is one of the only alone times you get with a newborn and normally the heat means your boobies leak milk and for me this week they didnt and it hit me hard and I sat and cried and cried, my mastitis f***ed me and my supply didnt build back up it dried up (I've known it's been coming but this made it so real) and although I've been mixed feeding and Baby K is fed happy and takes the bottle fine I feel a sense of failure, why did this have to happen to me? Why cant I keep feeding her, and it hurts. I think the thing that got me the most was there is this one little look, eye flutter, nuzzle followed by a smile when she grabbed that boob in the mornings that's a freeze frame in my head and I wont get to experience that again.

So shes had 9 weeks of my milk and I have a small amount stashed in the freezer for when shes sick otherwise this cow is no longer #RIPBoobies

-Ax


Tips this week:

- Perserver with your pramb if bubs doesnt seem to like it to start with, I found once kinsley realised it bounces around (after pushing through some crying matches in it) she now likes it! It's perfect to get them to sleep if they wont at home, go for a walk or pop an extension cord on the ground and bump it back and forth (trust me ha! - your welcome) ✌🏻

- Walk walk walk, its a great way postpartum to stay active (unfortunately birth is quite hard on your body so you cant pop back to a HIIT class for a while!) And to clear your head, relax, think and not go stir crazy! I've been doing it daily! - Have cousins with a pool ha! Ones that love your baby too and will sit with her while you have a swim (shout out to Broccy & Lu) because holey shit you miss it when your days go by in a blur looking after your new mate and its BOILING this summer. We had an awesome dip and avo round the pool!

- When baby naps take a second to have breke and a coffee there is always another nap for the washing etc you will feel much better putting yourself before your house (even if you are OCD like me)



155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page