top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

Thankyou.Mum

Written December 2018 - Kinsley 5 weeks old

If I am half the mum my mum is I would be amazing, but she is next level and this last month I wouldnt have got through without her. This is a special post to say thankyou mum or newest title nana 💞

I'm not going to sugar coat it, the first few weeks were really rough for us which my blogs revealed, so having my support team was crucial...You know how your parents say they will do anything for you? Well it isn't until you have some major life events or go through your biggest changes that you actually see this unfold or truly believe them. My mum has done some shit for me in the last few weeks that isn't pretty or fun but I needed her so of course she dropped everything as was right beside me.

Birth - right beside me, holding the shower on my back, massaging me, making me laugh with nic - is it crazy to say my birth team made labour fun Haha!? Postpartum - This is the real money maker, its hard and mum didnt leave our side, she cooked, cleaned, stocked our pantry, brought in the 3am feeding snacks, gave us whatever we needed (and everything we didnt know we needed) so me and nic could focus on our new little bubba. Stitches - Yeap those bad boys down there, Kinsley decided to tear this mama up and the public health system was shit at looking after me post being fixed up, so of course mum was literally having to check down there, bath it with a wash cloth to help clear the infection and basically just be all up in that vag 😂 did she care, no because I needed help (to be honest I think she saved Nic the trauma as I was desperate hahahahah) Mastitis - I was on the phone in tears, fell asleep and betime I woke she was in the car traveling to hospital from ohakune to be beside me and didnt leave my side until I was home and healthy again, she even kept kinsley sleeping in her pod out on the couch with her so we could get some sleep. Weight Gain - when Kinsnley wouldn't gain weight at a young age mum was up every 3 hours with me helping me feed, resettle and get those gains, it was a hard run and I didn't have to do it alone which is simply amazing.

Those first weeks of being a new mum are hard, beautifully, emotionally and chaotically hard and just knowing shes proud of me kept me going and I hear her voice when I start to get upset or worked up and it brings me back to calm and reminds me this baby girl is my world and I'll do anything for her just like my mum did for me. I have a small sign beside my bed that says "I believe in you" that she placed there when kisnley was only a week or so old and each time I look at it i feel so much love and warmth and it keeps me smiling ❤

So my mumma thankyou from the bottom of my heart. I love you to the moon and back, always 🌙💛 xx

And to all the mums out there and especially those who are new nanas or grandmas on this journey beside us, thankyou you are making your families world go round and even when we dont say it we bloody love you!! x

Happy Mothers Day x

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page