top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

10.Testing.My.Strength.

This week has been pretty horrific for me - I'm prone to migraines but I have now experienced my first cluster. 6 Migraines in 5 days and when your only allowed to take paracetamol it feels like your head is literally going to explode. Nic has been a god send, getting me ice packs in the middle of the night and calming me down to try and help me sleep when they hurt so much I cant even force my eyes shut.


3 doctors visits and a file with the hospital later and the only thing that can also help take a little of the edge off (enough to sleep at least) is codeine (also category A with paracetamol, so the safest in pregnancy). otherwise there is literally nothing they can do to help me without harming the baby. Its a scary thought that the medication they normally have me on is too risk for pregnancy, makes you wonder what it does to my own body! In saying that I now have a new found respect for anti-inflammatorys and how much they help with my migraines usually!


So I spent a lot of time in bed this week - Our darling friends Amber & Joe left NZ this week for their next adventures, starting in China. Although she won't be here watching us grow in the flesh I have promised weekly bump updates and I feel safe knowing I can message or call her anytime for advice even though shes on the other-side of the world, shes like my remote midwife - This is why I love technology.


There are so many crazy experiences that pregnancy brings along, and although I had heard of them its not until you start experiencing them yourself that its actually believable or makes sense. My top weird things I have learnt so far:


1. Food aversions are legit and you don't have the mind power to ignore them! I cant even get a grape close to my mouth without gagging but I eat a dozen frozen grapes every morning - WEIRD. Blood Orange fruit Tea I am usually obsessed with and now cant even open the packet without shuddering and wanting to throw up!

2. Cravings are very powerful and when I want something it turns into a need and that's all I can think about, currently its crumpets for breke (As my tummy can sometimes hold them down)! Nic cooks them for me and delivers them with all the burnt bits nibbled off as I can't stand that, (The things you do for love... or crazy pregnant partners haha as pretty sure he doesn't love burnt crumpet - I'm one lucky girl)

3. I need to nap, and I am not and have never been a napper but nowadays my body just takes over and I'm out like a light. I am exhausted all the time (I used to think this was an exaggeration, trust me its not)

4. Sleeping is shit, I can never get comfortable, You need to pee at least 2x in the night and then when you finally fall into a deep sleep from exhaustion morning sickness startles you at 4am.

5. You lose your breath super quickly, I am a fit and healthy girl who has always stayed active so when I now walk the 3 flights of stairs at work and am puffed and out of breath at the top its a bit of a shock to the system! I literally sound like I've been for a run - maybe its your body's way of starting to make you slow down and rest while you grown another human inside you? Or its just another bloody thing to add to the mix, whats one more!?

6. Sense of smell is actually insane, this is something that hits you one day and is creepily accurate (for me anyway) and powerful. I walked into my siter-in-laws place and said to the boys OMG I smell something fishy, everyone thought about what it could be but there was nothing close to explain it. Until Nic goes "Well there is a chilly bin down in the garage" behold i could actually smell that - For reference this is outside, downstairs & in the garage - CRAZY HUH!

-A x



112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page