top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

12.Nics.First.Scan.

I have been waiting for week 12 to come along for what feels like forever, a lot of big milestones happened this week and I can't describe the sense of a weight being lifted off your shoulders when you hear the clinic say "Everything is perfectly normal & healthy" - BLISS


The biggest moment to date was our 12 week ultra-sound, such an emotional, amazing experience. Who knew that at the size of a plum you actually look like a human!? I sure as well didn't i thought it would still look like some form of tadpole with a giant skull - Gosh was i wrong (come to think of it people used their ultrasound scan photos to announce their pregnancy and they look normal so It could just be me that thought this haha!).


I had my appointment on Thursday afternoon at Mercy Radiology in Westgate with the most beautiful, caring women who made me feel so comfortable and relaxed (Trust me they are not all like this, to some its nothing more than a job!). Myself & Nic sat anxiously in the waiting room with my bladder bursting at the seams to be called in chatting to mum who was also there with us.

They roll up your top and put the gel on your little tummy (being as its colder months they had it warmed which was bliss as its normally freezing so that was a nice surprise) and the ultra-sound wand comes out and start moving around to produce black & white shapes on the screen. Straight away i was AMAZED - in 6 short weeks the images on the screen had changed from a flicker of white in a few masses of black circles to an actual baby inside that black mass (which is actually my uterus, who would have thought!). At that moment it all felt so real, Nic was quiet but his hands were warm and I turned to see him smiling which all in that moment made me feel complete. Our little family all together for the first time.


We learnt in this scan that should be 20 minutes ended up being 45 that our future little one is super stubborn (this surprised me more than anyone else - apparently that's a no brainer thanks to me & Nic). He/She was super comfortable on the right hand side of my tummy and we had to work super hard to get he/she to stretch out to take measurements haha! I tell you what though when they move its lightening fast! Overall result - Healthy little baby measuring 66mm.


The next big thing this week was starting to share the news with those closest to us - We had chosen to keep it very much on the down-low until now. The feeling of pure excitement sending babys first photoshoot to its future Nana, Poppa, Oma, Opa & Aunties was a surreal feeling but how excited it made them brought it all even closer to being real for us. The best moment being Nic txting his mum "Yup I definitely put something in there - eeeeek" with the image.


My FCB family were the next to come - The best part was telling the other half of The Ashs that I was leaving, the look on her face was priceless, after a long pause to make her wriggle i then proceeded to explain why haha! Telling my team

was crazy, I didn't know how i would feel but mostly it just made it feel SO REAL, like this is actually happening, there is a child being made inside me (not sure if my brain realised what i had been doing for 3 months already haha). The amount of love & support that I feel from these people is amazing and I feel very lucky to have them all beside me on this journey (The BIG plus i now don't have to hide in my car to speu at lunch #winning).


ONE SUPER PLUS is I went a whole day without throwing up woooooo!! but it was made up for the next haha still ill take any moment I can :)

-A x

159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page