top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

18.Baby.Brain.Kicks.In

I am now loving the second trimester - I feel good 95% of the time and actually get things done outside of surviving work and pulling myself together each day woo! So a lot has been going on in my little mind and our household this week!


Nic completed the baby's wardrobe and I am IN LOVE with it, its perfection (of course) and each time I look at the detailing it makes me smile as Nic used his Opa's roughter and I'm sure has inherited some of his talents! I started popping some of the little outfits we have on hangers and they are now hanging in the beautiful wardrobe - Makes things so exciting seeing it all come together! Next step furniture!


I had my first experience of baby brain - No shit its actually REAL and the funny thing is that it was 100% my fault! (I hung my keys up in the pantry the night before with no reason for the first time in 3 years haha, they never leave my handbag!) I walked out of the house locked the front door and went to my car and pushed the unlock button on the door... Nothing... Again... Nothing then I thought "Oh the remote battery would have died" proceeded to tip the contents of my handbag all over the driveway and then accepted my fate. I had locked my car and house keys inside, great and it was 8 degrees and I had a killer headache woooo. Basically an hour later my future sister-in-law came to my rescue with a bowl of random keys from her house (it was worth a shot) and one was ours that Nic has left with them before wooo - Seeing that door open was the best feeling ever, turning the heat pump on even better! (I also have notes i write to myself starting to appear around the house so I don't forget to do things haha!)


Something I have been putting off letting into my brain is the actual process of giving birth as it makes everything seem so real and I was like 9 months is ages I can put that shit off haha! Well its creeping up fast, I am nearly half way and I have started to let myself think about it (little bits at a time) and think about how I feel and what I think I would like. Initial thoughts are the consideration of a water birth, I feel so at home in the bath and shower since being pregnant and the water is somewhere I have always also felt relaxed, so something I will be exploring further. One of my beautiful gals Veitch came over for a visit and she was the first person I opened up to about this and it was so nice to chat my thoughts through and just catch up without being sick on her haha! She brought me a cute little mama treats pack with some amazing natural products to make me feel nice and of course choccy for those cravings! I cant wait to try the face mask! I went to sleep that night so thankful I have beautiful friends beside me!


Side notes this week:

- Tried to push my 9pm bedtime to watch the State of Origin, epic fail asleep by the second half and had to google the results to see the Blues won (wooooo no idea how but we did it!!)

- Had the privilege of being invited to the Sir Peter Blake Leadership awards evening with Westpac which was hosted onboard the HMNZS Canterbury - Such an inspirational night and felt good to get all dressed up (Black Tie so full shabang) and go out for an evening (I lasted till midnight then it was home to bed - Oh how times have changed haha)

- Our oldest nephew Tyler (5) has just started playing basketball and tonight he had a late game so we went and watched down at the YMCA gym. OMG it was too cute, they look so adorable running round like headless chickens and fighting any other player on the field for the ball (no matter what team haha) safe to say they get very distracted midway down the court EVERY time hahahaha but we can't wait to see how they improve, melts my heart!


-A x


Oh something else which happened is I cant see my full undies band past my tummy anymore - The growing is in full force! We try to capture bump pics whenever we can as its amazing how fast things change and its such a beautiful process! Week 18 bump pics below :)


122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page