top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

25.The.Pregnant.Brain

What happens to your brain when your pregnant!? Honestly it bloody disappears or lets you down on everyday function HUGELY. For those that know me well you will know I'm really coordinated when it comes to sports and physical activity but walking on flat ground in a straight line I struggle. Well add pregnancy brain to that and I feel like I trip over things as I am staring at them telling my brain to step over them haha! Soooo clumsy, from tripping to dropping things or even throwing them accidentally (the office meetings bring out this one, takes passion or emotion to a whole new theatrical level without meaning too) ha! I have found myself having to have post it notes handy (my handbag is full of them so I don't forget things between work and home) or I am finally using the notes feature on my iPhone to its full extent - Nic even gets txts some days outlining what I need to talk to him about that afternoon or I would 100% forget by then haha! So this people is not a pregnancy excuse (I must admit that's what I thought it was to start with) but pregnancy brain is a legit thing!

I don't think my belly has grown bigger this week but just stayed the same yay haha! Which is a win in my mind as it means I at least get another weekly round out of some outfits haha! #pregnancywins on the flip side as you grow your uterus expands and literally squashes every other organ in your body which each come with their own implications or side effects haha!

For me this week the tightness in my tummy and chest is insane! I sound like an asthmatic when trying to breathe laying down and I just can't get comfortable :( Its weird thinking when your pregnant everything almost becomes exercise haha, yes even breathing! Also considering my skin feels soft and full of moisture it honestly sometimes feels like its so tight that if I lent on it it or knocked it it would split up the middle of my tummy haha (Impossible I know but that's how I can describe the sensation of the feeling - bloody uncomfortable).

The placenta is an organ I never really thought about until I fell pregnant, we understand our main organs, what they do, how amazing and vital they are to us but this one we don't consider until now? Its actually breathtakingly AMAZING! Like guys no shit - its a lifeline for a baby, it gives a growing baby immunity as well as being its lungs and breath, it gets mamas bodies ready to produce milk and the craziest thing!? Sperm helps create it so it really is a family home of love that's crucial to growing new life. It could just be me but it amazes be and I am just in awe thinking about it all, so even though its kinda gross in its physical form and I have to give birth to it after my baby (yeah that's a thing you learn too haha - aka after birth ick!) I love you my placenta and thankyou for helping me on this amazing journey! #realtalk

Baby has definitely developed its own sleeping patterns basically when this mama is asleep baby Fels is super awake and then when I am awake baby is sound asleep - They say its because our movements soothe them to sleep (hence why when they are out you can rock them to sleep). Guilty, but sometimes I talk loudly to try wake him/her up just so I can watch him/her squiggle around in there, something I could watch all day! I'm in love with it. Another thing I have noticed is as soon as I play music in the car baby wakes up and starts bashing me up from the inside haha – Lets roll with baby is dancing as lets face it with myself & Nic as its parents its very likely! It will probably be able to shuffle before it learns how to walk haha! Its fun playing with sounds and seeing if you get reactions from the little one!

Ok so babies clothes sizes are bloody confusing! You sit there thinking I will be organised and buy baby some clothes, hmm lets get a few of the sizes (proceeds to count on her fingers what months baby will be how old to check winter vs summer styles) then you get them home and some items of the same "size" have one more zero than the other!? Oh god what have I done, will baby have anything to come home in!? Turns out size zero is a thing but it actually starts at like 5 or so zeros ahhh! After plenty of procrastination I have learnt and think i understand so for other expecting mamas who also feel overwhelmed figuring this all out...

Here goes Mama Ash's summary of baby clothes sizes*:

00000 – Premature babies

0000- Brand new babies who are early or just for the first few weeks after birth

000 – Bigger new babies or babies up to 3 months (also can be labeled 0-3 months)

00 – Standard size for 3-6 months of age

0 – Standard size for 6-12 months old (before then changing to the easy system!)

1 – baby turns one! 2 – Bay turns 2 etc (unless they are big or small hahaha then its all out the window isn't it ha!)


*disclaimer this could be completely wrong haha


Well the end of the second trimester is fast approaching and no doubt will be here before we know it! Birthday month starts tomorrow for me haha so a big few weeks ahead and a lot to look forward to so stay tuned!

-A x


Side notes this week:

- It has been close to three years since Opa Martens (Nics Opa) passed away and this weekend the family gathered so all the boys could concrete in and reveal his headstone. The weather held together and the cemetery filled with smiles, love and chatter. It looks beautiful and it felt so nice to complete where he rests and have baby with us while doing so, he would be so proud of Nic and how hes supporting me through pregnancy (also how much hes used his roughter for the nursery haha, some of those cabinet making genes have definitely come his way!)

- Nana & Poppa brought us a pram! We went for a Mountain Buggie Urban Jungle in black (my fav and being as we don't know what we are having) and its soooo exciting! I look at the box every day waiting to assemble it with mum & dad when we see them this weekend hehe! Thankyou! We love it eeeee!

- I have started to get a wee bit of swelling in my feet and crazy sore shins if I am on my feet all day and pushing too hard, just from the weight so making sure I take time out each night to prop them up and actually relax helps!

- I have been taking pregnancy vitamins since falling pregnant and they became really important to my developing body in the first trimester with being so ill. They meant that I was confident I was getting all micro nutrients required for a healthy pregnancy even if I wasn't holding down food. They have worked really well with my body and kept me very healthy throughout so highly recommended for any mamas who suffered like me! I use Elevit for my folic acid & iodine and then a brand of pregnancy vitamins called Life Mum in which I take Calci Energy (Calcium & B12), DHA Ultra (for brain development & support to my changing body), Magnesium (for sleep & muscle cramps) and a Probiotic (digestion, immune system & gut health).


140 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page