top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

27.Kicks.Veins.Peeing.&.Contractions


27 weeks - Baby Fels first time at the snow. x

Ok so I started this week on a bit of a low after being over the threshold for my initial diabetes testing and having to complete the second round of testing the day week 27 hit - It was once again a long process and the only reason I survived is because I watched Love Island UK to keep me going. The sweet drink after about an hour had me feeling full blown nauseous and I would say I swallowed every 3 minutes to keep it at bay! (Just like the first trimester all over again). Then when I ate my yoghurt for breke post the test and it came back up within 7 minutes ugh! But you know what its all worth it to be able to know how your body is reacting & developing through pregnancy so you can ensure you and baby are the healthiest possible!

The following day that low turned into a high, I had my midwifes appointment and... I PASSED!! The feeling was amazing, turns out I was just on the original threshold of 7.8 and well under this time so it’s likely the day before the original test I had high sugar food or a breke that topped it over. So that weekend I was allowed a frozen coke again yay!! The rest of my appointment was really good all other blood results were fine, we had a little drop in iron which is common so I have started taking Floradix liquid to combat this and otherwise this mama and bebe are very healthy! Weight gain is now +12kgs and optimum for me is 16kgs so we are tracking well! My appointments now become more frequent so every two weeks which means I get to hear baby's heart beat more often *swoon*

I talked a few weeks back about your pregnancy stomach, well update mine is now higher meaning baby now kicks well above the belly button and further round the sides or into my ribs even! And it’s getting harder every day. Nic can now feel the little rugrat and I love cuddle time with the family which consists of him laying by baby with a hand present (usually ends in him falling asleep haha). Baby is sitting on the right side of my tummy so that side is so much more solid to touch and feels consistently more stretched haha, but we don't know if the little one is on their back or tummy as I get both kicks & elbows thrown round inside so could be either - Cheeky!


Real talk - Normally ladies sit very femininely on the loo, legs together like your in a tight body-con dress. I’m sorry but anyone who is over 25 weeks pregnant and still claims this I call bullshit or I'm green with envy haha! I’ve got to the point where I now sit like a male doing number twos (yes legs open belly in-between) because the pressure on my belly is way too instense if not. #glam #ladylike #whatavision I am also starting to feel my body teaching itself “How to Labour” if that’s even a thing haha!? Well that’s the best way to describe it anyway, basically a handful of times a day my tummy will go extremely tight like an actual rock and then relax back to a normal pregnant belly again (which is hard anyway but there is a huge difference). It doesn’t have any aches associated with it just a slight tightness & discomfort like baby is pulling my skin down hehe but they only last for 30-60 seconds. I find it quite cool seeing how your body starts to adapt and prepare!

A huge thing for the Hekkens family this week was having the family down at Nana & Poppas new pad in Ohakune, we were out in full force. My little family road-tripped down Friday from work and it was our first long term journey with a preggers lady present haha - Safe to say we stopped 3x for wees and then I ran into mum and dads when we arrived busting Hahahaha, we also took a lot of snacks (no complaining from Nic as usually I forget he eats every hour so huge win there!) We spent the weekend between the mountain (it was a complete bluebird) and the new family home! It was so nice being surrounded by happiness, love & laughter and although this mama did not like watching from the sidelines when it came to mountain time as a new little growing family we made sure baby daddy got some time in for us all and that baby Fels felt the snow for the first time (on a technicality via the tummy haha). I am so excited for this wee one to follow in our footsteps over the coming years he/she will be on the slopes before we know it!

Side notes this week:

- Our stubborn wee thing finally let mum aka nana feel its kicks and is slowly letting daddy feel them more often ha! But baby still won’t let aunty Jess though , maybe this weekend when she brings us cake!

- For the first time Baby Fels was alseep during my midwifes appointment so I heard its calm little heartbeat from a new angle and it made me very gooey inside knowing that in a few short months baby will be sleeping in my arms not my tummy hehe!

- My veins are becoming more prominent on my thighs and hips and there may even be a few little stretch marks or spider veins creeping in there, sometimes the pressure below them hurts a bit or if you knock them it brings tears to my eyes haha!

- My bellybutton is still an "inny" but who knows how much longer for because everyday this tummy grows it becomes flatter and flatter, its actually quite entertaining to check in on haha #weirdo

-My beautiful friend Cayla sent a surprise delivery to my work of stunning flowers and bath bombs because she knows how much me and baby Fels love and cherish our bath time in pregnancy! Such a surprise it brought a lump to my throat knowing I have amazing friends and support - Best way to finish a hard couple of weeks and start Birthday week! (Check out her amazing Instagram page if your into travel or wanting inspo and tips! @lifeoflayovers)

- We are now the proud new owners of side sleep bassinet for Baby Fels first few months sleeping in our room, due to having a little house we couldn't fit my baby bassinet in the bedroom that my grandad built so this will feature for our next bubba (hopefully if we have a bigger place by then!)


So its goodbye second trimester from us!

-A x


167 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page