top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

26.Our.First.Little.Scare

Updated: Aug 14, 2018


This week started off with what I class as one of the worst hours of pregnancy so far haha! (This is then confirmed later in the week but I will let this low for now) AND it made me feel like that dreaded morning sickness was coming back (could explain why I hated this proceed haha as those first 17 weeks were not a fun time for this mama to be). It was the first gestational diabetes blood test but what I didn't realise is that it’s not just simple blood test that takes an average of 4-6 minutes ha! It’s quite a long (boring) process…


- Arrive at Labtests

- Urine Sample (easiest one ever - first time I have been happy I need to pee every 10 minutes)

- Morning skull of a drink called Carbotest (more pleasant than I thought just SUPER sweet) But let’s just say last time I skulled something at that time of morning I think I was at RnV being buffaloed #lifechnages

- Then AN HOUR wait in the waiting room (started ok then mid-way through the queeziness kicked in and that was then an hour of pain - I was adamant not to throw it up because then you have to come back and do it again another day, No thank you!)

- Finally they call you back into the room and proceed to draw blood (quite a lot might I add, I did have some other tests at the same time so all up about 5 tubes)

- Then you can leave and proceed to get out of there as fast as possible and then have chocolate milk ready and waiting in your car to make you feel better (oh is that not the rule? just me haha?)

Safe to say being the 100 mph women I am sitting un-planned in that hot stuffy waiting room (not surrounded by people where I get my energy #extremeextrovert) for an hour isn’t my idea of pleasant – I left there thinking please say I pass the threshold so I don’t have to do the next stage (weirdly I just had this feeling I wouldn’t though).

Got my test results from my midwife today and that little gut feeling was oh so correct (I mean I haven’t had anything thrown in the mix for a while!?) She said I was JUST over the initial threshold (first test I’ve failed in my life haha) so I have to go back for the 2nd GTT testing ughhhh. Which is 2.5 hours long noooooooo think I will have to take the iPad and indulge in a few episodes of Love Island UK to pass the time by (and make myself feel better about life)! My test is scheduled for tomorrow morning so not much I can do until post these results with the exact outcome - And baby is fine so that’s all that matters to me, I’ll do whatever as long as that little one is healthy, happy & safe. Still a little scary just because it’s another thing that’s unknown and to think about throughout this process - I’ll keep you posted!


Myself & Nic had date night this week - Dinner @The Hunting Lodge (Thanks to our beautiful friends Jethro & Nicole) to celebrate completing 6 months of baby growing and also get out with just the two of us while I still feel good and am pretty mobile haha! It was an excuse to dress up a bit fancy and just be in each other’s company as life is always fast paced in our house! We had the best time eating stunning food and just talking and spending quality time before our family of 2 becomes 3, I didn’t want the night to end I even felt a bit sad when we hopped in the car to drive home back to normal everyday life (Could just be the hormones as inside I did well up a little haha).

We had a little (felt huge) scare this week where I didn’t feel baby move for a full day and I kept it to myself all day thinking I must have just been pre-occupied or missed it and then that night on the couch when baby usually comes out to play and you can see him/her kicking and punching my tummy and it didn’t so I really started to worry and opened up to Nic admitting I was scared! He was really good and told me to just relax and we watched TV to act normal but still nothing be time we went to bed so I lay awake for a couple of hours trying so hard to feel it move and coming up with a plan of if I didn’t feel little one move by mid-morning the following day I would go to hospital for a scan (I ended up falling asleep finally which was good!). The first thing in the morning Nic asked when he opened his eyes was “has baby moved yet?” so you could tell he was also worried but trying to just be there for me and keep me relaxed – My answer to this was a mumble of I don’t think so, as I couldn’t be sure as I thought I felt a little bit in the night (again normally baby moves a lot) but I could have also been so wound up I was dreaming! So I tried things they say make baby wriggle normally like drinking a cold beverage, wriggling your tummy, playing loud sounds but nothing… Then just as I was stirring the muffin mixture mid-morning I felt two little kicks and I was ecstatic, I ran outside to tell Nic grinning ear to ear but he had headphones on so I think he thought I was just showing him my muffin mixture LOL #proudhousewife safe to say I’ve never been so happy to feel those little wriggles, that night baby made up for the day it had sleeping and wriggled 23/7 haha and although it means I’m running on 4 hours broken sleep I wouldn’t change it! Don’t scare mama and daddy like that again please!


For those who are mamas you will hear me when I say pregnancy actually flys by! It’s insane how fast it goes by and how these huge changes and milestones take over your life & body but you blink and its moved on. When you haven’t experienced pregnancy you think 9-10 months of pregnancy is soooo long but it sure doesn’t feel it! I’m so glad I made the decision to document my journey so I can look back on it all again. For this mama there is only 8 weeks left until I finish up work and 13 until baby is officially due so the next big exciting thing is my baby shower eeeeeeeeeee! Of course Aunty Jess is all over it and knows me oh so well that I have been fed enough information and involvement in a few little things to keep me sane & excited but ultimately it’s still a total surprise! The invites officially went out and they look beautiful, she nailed the design with simple, grey, silver, white basically my nursery on a page haha! Weirdly it was a huge relief (and then excitement) when they went out for me as it was actually one of the stressful things that’s been on my mind, I hate figuring out who to invite to events and my feel on Baby Showers is that they should be smaller, personal and intimate so I had to be very tight on who I was inviting. I based it on the involvement they have had in my pregnancy and will have in Baby's daily life, then once baby is here the whole world can meet him/her hehe!

We closed this week out with Mum & Dads big move! We said goodbye to our family home in the Kaipara, end of an era with so many amazing memories but has opened an exciting new door for us all and I can’t wait. Our new family home is in Ohakune and us kids (haha I’m technically a kit growing a kid to them :P) will be down there this weekend checking it all out and marking our spots haha! – So I spent as much time with mum and dad as possible this week as it won’t be as easy anymore! We had a brunch with our little family of four then myself & Nic spent Sunday afternoon hanging with them and had takeaways at the local with nana & uncle too such a great way to end the weekend and our time in Southead J We also put baby’s gift together the Mountain Buggy – yay!! Its beautiful (and yes all us ladies took it for a spin up and down the hallway haha) Nic really wanted to do this with Nana & Poppa and I’m so glad we did just another simple, easy family moment but one that we won’t forget and we always have a few laughs (Dad see I left the cardboard for ya mwahahahahah ooops #babybrain #sorrynotsorry).

Side notes this week:

- Saturday I went for a walk out to Piha, beautiful sun and crisp air. Just some time post yoga for me and baby together and I sat and watched the waves roll in imagining us as a family swimming & playing together one day hehe = Bliss

- We had a coffee date with Veitch and it was so nice to just catch up and chat even though we literally chose the worst possible day to do so and it took us an hour of road carnage to even get to the café (from destinations 15 minutes away haha!) but still so worth every moment and the giggles it gave us along the way haha!

- We had a RARE occasion where I had to rescue Nic (this is 100% usually the other way round haha) he ran out of petrol on the side of the road luckily made it to the bus stop haha but I still think if it was me I would have been in the middle of the road making traffic or a bus would have pulled in and honked at me to move haha! #jammyprick. Long story short it’s our spare car and it was on e-light and he thought he would pop and fill it up before I got home turns out it didn’t want to make it there hahaha!

- Nic gave me a back and foot massage this week after a long day on my feet to get rid of the aches & pains = absolute bliss!

- This week’s additions to Baby Fels nursery is that I created and hung some décor in the canopy and also added a mirror above the change table, me and mum also started to reconcile what first stage clothing we have ready for baby and what we need to get, it’s all so adorable! I am IN LOVE with Babu & Merino for basics <3

So this week was definitely a mixture of ups & downs, with our first few scary moments this pregnancy but overall I am still feeling really healthy and happy and excited for the future so that counts for the most! Thanks for bearing with the long entry haha!

-A x


289 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page