top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

20.The.Halfway.Point

This week was sooooo exciting - The bump is growing so quickly and we are loving capturing how its progressing and shaping, such a special amazing thing growing a human inside you!

I quite often sit there and think about how each day brings us one closer to meeting you and holding you for the first time and the love it makes me feel is amazing, just like when I look at your daddy and know one day soon I can call him my husband (cheese I know #sorrynotsorry).


ALSO It was finally 20w scan time and I barely slept the night before knowing we would get to see our little one the following morning! We had a morning appointment so a nice morning waking up together and then went down to Mercy Radiology in Westgate and waited to see our little one. It was the most amazing scan, its called an anatomy scan as they measure, check and show you every little part of your growing baby and its quite simply breathtaking (except the face, they look creepy on ultrasounds as they only show bones and fluid haha!). My favourite part was the adorable little legs & feet (to be fair even the lady performing the scan said the little feet were super cute hehe #wemadethem). We have started to notice a pattern with our scans that little one is very stubborn (hmm wonder why) so the scan took over an hour as baby really didn't want to slip right around for one of the key measurements (I wasn't complaining as I got to see him/her wriggle around for longer). Pregnancy is progressing well and our beautiful little baby is healthy growing perfectly, below are our key highlights:


1. Baby has an oval head like its dads (no team round aka pud like me and poppa haha)

2. Baby yawned and its mouth is massive just like nics hahahaha - this moment was gold as his family joke about his flip top from when he was little!

3. Nice chubby little baby belly (that must be me as we all know Nic doesn’t have a belly haha)

4. Cute little legs & feet!! I AM SO IN LOVE WITH THEM and they are my favourite little pictures

5. Baby loves to pop it’s little hands in fists by its face

6. Is sitting spine to my left side but on its tummy to sleep

7. Loves to wriggle!! Was so cool seeing this!


I've actually had so much more wriggling from baby this week, I've tried a couple of times to see if Nic feels it with putting his hands on my belly but its not strong enough yet! I think he finds touching my belly a bit weird haha (he refused to touch his sisters when she was pregnant with his nephews!). Also pregnancy fact for those unaware your belly goes super hard when it pops out so that is quite a cool but also random feeling!


Post our scan I had quite a lot of you message me asking if we were finding out the gender and it made me think that I've never actually talked about that on here! The answer is no, we didn't find out we are keeping it a surprise! This is something I have always said to myself and when Nic & myself chatted about it when planning to have kids he felt the same, to us its a surprise that no one else knows or can spoil and it's something on the day and in our moment that we can share together... all 3 of us (This now probably makes more sense as to why the nursery is grey & white haha! Gender neutral!).


This week has been a big one at work and probably the first time I have let stress get to me this pregnancy - Dead giveaway that I have had 3 baths, put on about 4 face masks (painting them on can be so therapeutic, who knew!) and snuggled in for early nights watching love island in bed (and generally fallen to sleep 30 minutes in haha). This has meant I have been very short with Nic at times but he must have been able to tell as we haven't let anything get up to an argument or we have just gone quiet and then picked up like nothing has happened (generally I love a good argument haha and Nic loves to bait me - hook, line & sinker!!). So thanks babe ha!


Side notes this week:

- So many little order I did came all at once, so many deliveries was so exciting! Highlights were a beautiful Ryan & Rose PatPat (Pacifier for if needed), cutie clip & teether rattle that came from the USA in clear, white & grey soooo gorgeous!

- A surprise gift from a beautiful friend Caitlyn which was natural & organic skincare for mama and baby grown from her sister-in-laws farm in Kaukapakapa, check them out @CountryKitchen

- I am weirdly obsessed with silicone teethers, you can get so many cute ones! So I have purchased a few favourites and got them in a display jar on the dresser until needed.

- My body is starting to feel the aches & pains of pregnancy and the pregnancy yoga class I do each weekend is such a relief and relaxing time, I really look forward to it! And have even started using some of the key stretches a few times a week to help at home.

- Nic made pancakes this weekend (my fav!) for me and baby - Is that not just the cutest different sizes and all!? I'm so grateful he looks after us both already. x


That's all from this mama in the making this week - Up next week 21 and my first plane trip with a belly!

-A x


122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page