top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

23.The.Waddle.Has.Started


This week we had Nic's work Mid-winter Christmas do and as we were walking down to the boat my charming baby-daddy to be says "You waddle a bit now don't you" with a grin ear to ear and it was at that moment I took notice and was like farrrk I do, its started while laughing. Then we proceeded to discuss how when I step my foot meets the other one rather then extending out in-front of each other to gain ground haha! #thanksbabe We had such a good time with his work crew and this mama and baby were even out dancing until midnight (something that aches a little more than it ever did haha).


On Sunday I had the most blissful morning, while Nic slept off his hangover I went to a 2 hour pamper session at East Day Spa (my favourite place). I had a 1 hour full body pregnancy massage (thanks to my beautiful ladies Meeks & Alf) followed by an eye treatment/massage and scalp massage (thanks to my beautiful work team) and came out of there feeling divine. Safe to say it took away every ache from dropping it low the night before and also meant that night I slept like a baby (actually like Nic, I envy how he sleeps) I didn't wake for 5 hours! Just having some me time as pregnancy gets harder on your body works wonders!


This week I have actually started to feel big and pregnant and I figured this was not just a feeling but reality when turning to fit through gaps doesn't work anymore as my belly now sticks out just as far as the width of my hips front on hahaha! So I have hit the stage that once I lay down I don't want to get up as its a bloody mission! Everything aches and I struggle to find a way to get up that actually doesn't hurt or make me fall on the floor haha. Safe to say when I sat on the couch, forgot the remote so got back up, sat back on the couch, forgot my water bottle so got back up, sat back on the couch didn't turn the main light off, got back up (at pregnant women breaking haha) sat back down and then needed to pee and HONESTLY I was about to let myself pee my bloody pants that's how over it I was! (Lucky for all my couch is way to nice to let that happen hahaha).


The bigness (feeling of) and the start of the more immobile stages of pregnancy have effected my sleep and patience this week, I'm very restless combined with having to pee and my 3-4 hour sleep cycles have now turned into 2 hours so that takes its toll later in the week when it all builds up. Key for me is still trying to get as much rest as I can and using a relaxing routine of bath, oils, massage and reading or chill time to help me feel calmer when I don't sleep (I get really worked up when I can't get back to sleep in the night!). Monday night was a prime example of this where at 2:44am I was chasing my cat Skittle out the door yelling at her that I wish I had never brought her and that I will give her to a new home if she doesn't behave, then hopped back in bed balling my eyes out as I wished I was asleep haha! Safe to say I apologised to her the next day as although she can be a little shit I do love the little menace hehe! But hopefully she has learnt that running, jumping, scratching and waking a pregnant lady up all night isn't wise (yeah right).

Nic made his first crew up of our pregnancy this week - He took a hungry pregnant ladies lunch haha! I had made his and he managed to grab both when running out the door and when I noticed I sat at the servery and cried (like real tears too) I was just so angry and disappointed. When your 20+ weeks pregnant the hungry phase kicks in and the definition of hangry has never been more real! I am snacking every 2 hours and wake each morning starving (I mean sheesh 8 hours without eating feels like I'm withering away, which I most definitely am not hahahaha!)


I had another appointment with my midwife this week with the usual tests on arrival, I got to hear that beautiful heartbeat - Still my favourite sound in the world (followed by drum & bass haha) and we were given our forms for the next test which is via bloods at week 26 (tests more in depth for diabetes in pregnancy). This mama and baby are looking and feeling good, healthy and my pregnancy is developing well, I actually learnt there is two stomachs when your pregnant (well one real one up high & then a pregnancy tummy which is lower) who would have known!? Basically the pregnancy tummy starts low when baby is little and as baby grows it expands and "moves or progresses up" so all those little (or not so little) kicks start to be felt & seen higher up. Current stage is my pregnancy tummy is up to my belly button (which is becoming closer to an outy every day haha). Baby Fels kicks are so strong internally now some of them push into my bladder and I feel a sudden urge to pee or if they are down angled it bloody hurts (just like a punch to the vag hahahaha)! The stubbornness hasn't eased up and each night when this little one goes nuts moving as soon as daddy puts his hand there he/she stops and then he gives up and about 3.2 seconds later baby starts again (I think I now know someone more stubborn than Nic and I haven't even officially met you yet haha!) #goodlucktous


Side notes this week:

- Baby Fels was given his/her first soft toy from Uncle Broccy & Aunty Lu, a beautiful Lion from Citta and it couldn't be more perfect (I have always loved lions as they are an animal of strength and passion who like to lead but are just so beautiful, I am also a Leo!)

- I have been having INSANE dreams, still so real but random scenarios like being in a falling elevator where the cables snap and it starts to plumit and I wake up feeling sick that I've put baby in danger - See crazy and I remember every detail!

- Pregnancy has some really not so glamorous side effects, my gums (and nose but less) have been bleeding like crazy and when your out you can't really do much other than swallow it!

- We want to get a 3D scan and have been advised that around 30 weeks is the best timing when baby has a little bit more chub (mainly a chubbier cuter face) to get the least creepy outcome (generally they go one way or the other haha!) So this is something we will look into over the next few weeks.


-A x


148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page