top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

24.Six.Months.Complete

WOW the end of week 24 - This means we have officially been growing little baby Fels for 6 months! Its crazy how fast the time goes and to think we are now at the serious end of business where I may actually need to start dialing down my thoughts on what I am going to eat for my next snack and up on my birth plan, baby essentials and of course locking in that baby shower date (mmmmm cake, Just Jess cake I can't wait haha!) #2ndtrimesterhunger #alwayshungry


My dad aka Poppa was on fire with the dad jokes this week - We have the same warped sense of humor so I find it very entertaining but sometimes some of the jokes he hurls out-loud I swear people would frown upon haha! I was with mum and dad driving into town and out of their road he turns right down towards Shelly Beach with the commentary "I just wanted to show you where the whales beach so you know you won't have far to go!" the cheeky shit, but I couldn't stop laughing. One of those deep laughs that feels so good afterwards, good for the soul even if at my own expense! Safe to say this bump suits its fruit of a baby melon this week haha! #bumplove


Something exciting this week was that I found out I am zoned for Helensville birth care for postpartum care which is super exciting, so we are registering for the two days offered there post our hospital birth (of course its if everything goes smoothly, but plan for the best I say!) Its something I have really wanted to try and do and is highly recommended to me from other mamas (but also can be super expensive if you are out of zone so I was starting to fret about it all hence why this news had me SO excited). What it means is if available when we have baby myself and Nic get to stay together with bubs the first night and have the support of the staff who teach you how to latch/feed baby, a rough newborn schedule and what to look out for etc followed by another night for mama and baby. In my eyes it just sets you up to get the best start as a first time new mama (of course we are built to do this so if it doesn't happen I won't mind I would just prefer it this way.)


Our neighbours the evening I had a headache decided to boom their music really loud (via shitty speakers that sound like rattling tins may I add & I'm not even just being a fussy AV techs fiance haha) to the point of I couldn't physically turn my TV volume up loud enough to drown it out! When Nic got home (3 hours deep into this nightmare) safe to say the pregnant ladies patience had well and truly gone, I was holding my ears nearly in tears wailing that all I wanted to do was relax/sleep. Nic being the quick thinker he is took me to Sam & Robs where we had dinner, chilled in-front of the fire and got to see our adorable nephews! So big ups to him as he diffused WW3 haha! Our eldest nephew Ty is super into Fortnite (like they all are haha) and was showing us all his dance moves so friggin cute! And Cohey the littlest kept asking if the baby in aunties tummy had a mouth and how long until its big like him = adorable! I came home (and all was quiet) and was super happy I had got to see them all so went to bed at peace ha!


Then the weekend hit and... ANOTHER tummy bug waaaaa - OMFG spewing with a big tight belly is the actual worst! Its so sore and uncomfortable and add the fact you also can't breathe to that and doesn't it just sound like how you wanted to spend your Saturday? I woke up at 3:30am and power-chucked everywhere! Then continued to do so every 20 minutes until 5:30am when I finally fell asleep as Nic got up for work (the poor guy - bless him he did zombie in on about round three to rub my back and get me some cold water). 12 hours later I was better, the culprit a piece of fried chicken - note to self don't go to a dingy little roast shop to satisfy a craving when preggers ooops!


Sunday Nic made me muesli, yoghurt & berries for breakfast in bed as being sick I hadn't eaten much goodness (actually at all) for the baby the day prior. I was super thankful 20 minutes after eating it but at the time all I wanted was a bloody crumpet with butter haha so tried my best to out on puppy dog eyes along with the "baby wants a crumpet card" and got a negotiation of you can have a crumpet after you eat this (god hes cunning ha!) Safe to say after inhaling the first bowl before he could walk back to the kitchen and then having another I didn't even think about the crumpet afterwards haha! #nicwins


Every weekend we try and do something in baby Fels nursery to keep our project rolling (and to be fair my OCD for organisation & preparation at bay haha!) Whether its a big ticket build, new furniture or just a little addition or orgnisation trick it makes us feel good and is super special to me thinking its for our beautiful bebe who will see it in a few months eeek! This weekend was hard on this front as I was out with a stomach bug and Nic was working but I can be quite persistent (might be a surprise to some of you haha!) I had a thought earlier in the week about how I could grab swaddles & blankets easily when getting baby for a feed or cuddle and came up with the idea of utilising the end of the cot to solve this, so Sunday afternoon I brought this to life and its simple, easy & beautiful! We love the look it ads to the room too! So there was some success this week even if small :)


Side notes this week:

- My skin has broken out and I have continued to have round ligament pains from growing but my back has been really good and strong this week!

- Baby is telling me to slow down another gear by playing up when I am pushing myself to hard physically or getting run down! More aches & pains and discomfort creeps in and the kicks feel like they are telling me off haha!

- We have had quite a bit of change at work and the team I work within has been merged into wider teams so we had one last team potluck dinner at ours and it was so awesome to have everyone buzzing round the house with good food, company & chat #troughersforlife

- I have been craving sugar this week - The baby wants nippys chocolate milk everyday and I don't want to be a mean mama ooooops hehe!

Another week closer to meeting you little one!

-A x

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page