top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

30.Can.I.Pause.Pregnancy?

Its official I feel MASSIVE, UNCOMFORTABLE and like I am severely pregnant (funny that, right!? haha) I know, I know reality check Ash you are pregnant (and quite might I add) but honestly this last week it has hit me like a ton of bricks. I can see why in a few more weeks mama's start to wish the baby out haha! Safe to say I am never comfortable and the feeling of heaviness and awkwardness is center stage, my skin is so tight and stretched I actually don't know how it will expand anymore and my stretch marks on my thighs and hips have become more prominent.

I am still obsessed with my bump (can I even call it a 'bump' anymore or is it more a ball or something ha?) but life around it is not as easy.

I thought it might be because I am feeling more self conscious about being bigger, more tired and short witted with being uncomfortable and thinking about actually giving birth that I have been more needy this week but I have come to the realisation that it is also those third trimester hormones kicking up a notch (its actually a thing not just me wanting attention woo!) I just want to have Nic close all the time, when we are on the couch or in bed its something as simple as I will always be holding his arm or resting my hand on his back or something and if we are on opposite ends I'm not happy about it and find myself legit frowning haha #maddam We did have a cute little date night where we went to the movies (while we still can) and did small things like went to a couple of shops together and just lazed in bed in the morning sun - you appreciate these times more when you're coming close to welcoming a little one into your world!

Safe to say I have been feeling pretty flat this week and with the added pressure of being quite busy at work and a few hormone headaches thrown in the mix. On Monday I drove into the office from a client workshop and saw my dads truck in the driveway and I was like a little kid on Christmas morning - Mum & Dad were in Auckland weeeee! I got so excited I went and parked and then went running round to find them haha (They have never lived out of Auckland so this is a huge deal hehe!) They surprised me and it was exactly what I needed, to just chill, catch up and relax with my family. They stayed the night with us and we ate take out, watched TV and just spent time together it was bliss! Nic cracked open some malteasers and we figured we are now at a stage where we can use my tummy as a table, it was very convenient for us all to not have to reach to the coffee table to grab some hahaha - But shit that made me feel big for sure (didn’t even need hands haha).

I'm sorry in advance for the few males that read my blog (and to dad haha!) about this next part. I had my waxing appointment scheduled and when it was over quicker than normal and not as painful I didn't really think much of it, that was until I went to re-book and she was like I don't think you need to come as often while pregnant - Because I literally can't see down there to check myself out (thanks to the protruding bump and probably for a good reason as changes happen?) I didn't even think to check in the mirror before going hahaha #onesmallwin

Some days I wish I could just hit pause or slow this pregnancy down a bit because I am loving the experience but just like that another week has flown by at the blink of an eye! But for me it was filled with family which was exactly what I needed, now we move into week 31.

Chat soon

-A x

Side notes this week:

- My cheek pigmentation on the right hand side is insane, all the little blood vessels on the surface, so crazy looking at it and seeing the difference (pictures don't do it justice!)

- I ordered some reusable breast pads to try out when baby comes from a small NZ business (they are so stunning) and when I came home with the courier I let Nic open it and he thought they were coasters

- It was Father's day so we had a beautiful lunch with the Fels family and sent Daddy Hekkens his first Ohakune mail present hehe! And when we woke Baby Fels had got this mama to make a card with a cute little book to celebrate "Daddy-To-Be day" with Nic. Its a bit of a grey area really but being a Dad starts in pregnancy as looking after the mama is looking after the baby so he totally deserves it!

- We have a maternity shoot on our radar but the weather is not playing ball so we have delayed another week, fingers crossed this weekend is nice! Watch this space!

- Mid conversation Nic looked at baby and called me a hippo (bloody charmer) very closely followed by "but a beautiful hippo" #nicesavebabe we were in fits of laughter.

- Nana (Great Nana to baby Fels) brought us our baby monitor which was super exciting! When she came round or dinner mid-week we charged it up and tested it out and Skittle (our cat) was fixated on the camera and was trying to stalk it out and paw it - It was such a laugh and so entertaining!


123 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page