top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

39.Baby.Daddy.Wins


Nic turned the big 30! (Happy birthday baby daddy) 💙 So he won the race on whos birthday would come first (it was a gamble between him on the 6th and Baby Fels with our EDD of the 7th haha). Being as we are so close to becoming parents we will have a delayed celebration next year but we still made sure we celebrated with our beautiful families. On Sunday we did a casual lunch at the Woodsman with both the Fels and Hekkens tribes, its always so cool to have all our family in one place catching up and we always come away feeling super buzzed! Just Jess also made Nic his very own (and her very first) giant donut cake as her donuts are his absolute fav so that went down a treat! He is waiting for his biggest present aka Baby Fels to make his or her arrival - Looks like they will be a little late :P

This week had quite a few changes for this mama and her body with things continuing to shift and adapt to get ready to welcome this wee one into the world. You can just feel that things are changing within you and its a crazy surreal thing. I actually sat there publishing last weeks blog and started to feel quite uncomfortable and crampy, I tried every position and place but just couldn't get comfy so rolled with it, thats been life on and off this week. Some days I am super sore and others its manageable. Family are checking in daily to see if anything is progressing as we are all so excited! I have had some intense pelvic pressure so sleep is basically non existent (not that its been very existent since 5 weeks into my pregnancy haha) but now to the point where I found myself staring at Nics slight shillouete at 2:30am smiling and thinking he will be the best dad (for about 1.75 hours LOL). It's a weird feeling the pressure and not knowing what will happen next, I have a heat pack glued to my side when my braxton hicks come along and am bouncing on a ball all the time (The glam life of maternity leave where you sit on the couch and watch netflix isn't quite what it seems haha your an uncomfortable whale that can't sit still and has to pause every 15 minutes for a bathroom break!).

We went into Waitakere Hospital for a CTG mid week as baby was not very active and I shit my pants when that happens as normally it is extremely active (like to the point where I have told him/her off a couple times via the belly telling them to sleep so this mama can haha #crazypregnantlady). They do these as a safety measure and being as its so close to home its a super easy process - It was a little scary as Baby Fels took a while to get wriggling (aka wake up) but about 20 minutes in I could then I could feel its little stretches again and the end report looked good but a bit behind normal activity so we waited around for an Ultrasound so they could check fluid levels, babes positioning and blood flow etc to be sure - This also came back great and we have one chubby healthy baby that is buried deep in mamas pelvis!

I do really enjoy sitting there listening to the heartbeat of our little one and the difference between when its asleep and awake its like a race horse winding up haha! The scan wasn't as "amazing" as previous ones as there is literally like NO ROOM in there for the wee thing and when they scan you on the screen its in pieces so you can't see a cute profile like when they are smaller haha! Its all big white masses but still cool to say hello and see little one.


My sister of many talents came and took some Milk bath photos of my belly for me and I LOVE how they turned out, they are exactly what I wanted - they are very raw and natural showing the change in my tummy and I have always had a vision that once Baby Fels comes along I will recreate the milk bath with him/her in it for a keepsake. We also had some great laughs along the way because safe to say I don't really "fit" in the bath that well anymore so when she was casually saying "just flip round to face the other way, it has better light" I was like wtf b***h are you serious I'll create a tsunami moving that much, I mean water levels were pretty high (I think she thought she was filling the bath for herself not a preggers whale bahaha!).

Well thats another week done, its so crazy to think that when I wake up tomorrow we have hit our official due date and I have been growing this little baby for 10 months! We are so close now and I am beyond excited and just can't wait to start my new job as a mama!


Chat soon - Hopefully with a new addition!

-A x


Side notes this week:

- We started the week with Halloween so of course this weeks bump shot featured candy!

- Got my nails and lashes done, I am keeping these up to date (along with my housework #priorites) so when baby decides to make an entrance I may at least look half decent, not that I will actually care when its all go I'm sure but hey when you feel good it does wonders right!

- Skittle is (still) OBSESSED with the nursery but she has found that she can use the nursing chair to have a nap on without getting banished by mama & daddy (our rule is along as its nothing that the little babe is going to be directly in/on).

- I purchased my first little family purchase for a cute little Christmas Photo - The Xmas Candycane edition Lamington socks! So cute and I can't wait to be matchy matchy in them hehe!

- Nana made us some frozen meals for when baby arrives I have had to forget about them so I don't want to eat them already hahaha!

- Mum and Dad have been here all week as dad had some jobs up here and mum a couple of appointments - It's been awesome, in the weekend we BBQ'd, watched the rugby and it means I get lots of back and foot rubs from mum hehe which this week have been so needed!

- We have all had our bets hedged on what gender and weight Baby Fels will be so I have compiled them all together and we shall see who wins hehe, gender first then closest weight. We have a 60:40 Boy:Girl split going on (I actually have changed my opinion since growing this human though and feel like it could be a little girl! We shall see hehe).

- Dimples had a HUGE sale and I went a little crazy with some adorable stuff (whI say except um 70% off!?)



200 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page