top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

32.It.Happened.Wees.Happened

That’s right pregnancy ain’t as glamorous as ladies make it look, to be real there is quite a lot of gross things that happen to your body throughout the process. Natural, yes but still gross haha it’s the stuff no one tells you about becoming pregnant and then in turn the stuff we generally don’t talk about – Now I have said this I feel like it’s only fair to give a few examples (ill save you the rest for when it’s your turn #gottalovesurprises).

1. Increased discharge – It’s all for good reason, I will leave it at that!

2. Constipation – It’s a thing because all your muscles relax and it has the adverse effect to what you would think relaxing means, honestly sometimes I think it’s actually to prepare you for birth just out a place that doesn’t stretch as much, nature’s way of getting you used to this being un-painful cause birthing is a whole different level mwahahaha!

3. Gas becomes the norm – forget all those princesses out there that say otherwise once you hit 6 months pregnant you will flourish into a beautiful pregnant whale and you WILL fart and you won’t always have time to waddle away and hide

4. You might wet your pants…


Yes this happened to me for the first time this week, I have been aware it can happen and I thought to myself my pelvic floor muscles must be pretty strong and maybe I missed this pregnancy experience (not complaining) then sitting on the couch I sneezed and it happened… wees came out. I then proceeded to burst out laughing and document it to my sister on Snapchat (isn’t she so lucky haha – I’m sure she would have broken a giggle). It hasn’t happened again but safe to say I now carry a spare pair of undies in my handbag until these last couple of weeks at work are done haha!

Anyway enough of that. This week has some highs and lows for this mama, let’s get rid of the lows first. I was probably at my lowest point of pregnancy on Friday night, I was so down on life and in so much pain that I couldn’t even move without wanting to burst into tears or just sink into the floor and turn off for a while. Friday morning I rolled my ankle in the carpark, as soon as I did it deep down I knew it wasn’t just a twist but I hoped for the best. Across the next five hours I kept denying it even when I couldn’t push my clutch in without searing pain, my shoe was stuck on from the swelling and my heart felt like it had moved to my foot. A&E confirmed that I have torn my ankle ligament and sent me away with crutches (I hate those things). Being pregnant you are unable to take any form of anti-inflammatory medications and this is where ligament pain is driven from so the priority was to manage that and when that subsides it should heal pretty quickly. But Friday & Saturday were horrific, I couldn’t move anything without pain (it’s hard enough being 32 weeks pregnant to be comfortable) and I literally had to crawl on all fours to the bathroom. Nic was on ice pack and food duty which was amazing but I just didn’t want it to be happening to me and I hated every minute. I am heaps better now and the swelling is going down so today was the day the crutches could be retired yay! And I just have to be super careful and make sure it gets better because if I do it again with the extra weight I am carrying it will be a seriously different story. I am back in a positive head space which also helps haha!


My week got immensely better because Amber is back in the homeland after being abroad for 6 months and she visited us Saturday and it was soooooo amazing to cuddle her and hear about it all. Just such a warm, loving feeling having her back and she brought her Doppler along so Nic could hear Baby Fels heartbeat out loud (not on video) for the first time. She also felt baby and he/she is now sitting in the middle like they should be around now so there is definitely less pressure on one side of my body which is great! But I do get a bit more pelvis pressure haha!

Our baby nephew (soon to not be the baby of the family) turned 3 this week! We celebrated on Sunday with his camo themed party and it was so adorable to see how much he’s grown and him running and playing with his little group of friends! He is super excited to be a big cousin and it melts my heart. Sunday made me super excited for Nic to be a dad, for those of you that know us you will already know he is great with kids! But there was something about seeing him covered in them on the bouncy castle and how much they all loved playing with him (probably mixed with the fact that I have our baby in my tummy haha) that just made me excited on a whole other level for us to do this thing called parenting together and so much more excited to meet the mini us that soon enough will be running around with him too :)


Tonight we have our first antenatal class with Parents Centre (I call it Baby school haha), Meeks & Kurt who are only 6 days behind us are in the same one so I think this will make the boys a bit less nervous even if they won’t admit it haha! I am looking forward to learning and seeing what they cover, we go every Tuesday for the next 6 weeks or until baby comes basically as you never know!


Side notes this week:

- We have some more maternity shoot photos through and I am so IN LOVE with them, Natasha has done a stunning job and captured us so well. I am so happy we got them done and will have the memories forever.

- I am super excited for my baby shower and for Baby Fels first party hehe! It just brings the whole thing so much closer eeek!

- Tiredness has kicked up a notch again and all I want to do is nap during the day (bit hard at work) so I am glad that I am finishing up soon to try and get as much rest as possible before baby graces us with his/her presence

- I have started handing over my accounts at work, it’s exciting but also a crazy feeling as I have been here for nearly 7 years and I will fully be checking out soon!

- I’m starting to think about birth a lot more but this week it was more around does it hurt for the baby!? Like I know it’s a pain or feeling like no other for us mamas but what about the little one haha? Like does it hurt for them? No doubt its uncomfortable as their head and body get squished down the birthing canal and out of us haha and they are used to a warm fluid based world then all of a sudden they are in a bright cold room? Safe to say I don’t know the answers but this is where my mind goes when I am thinking at 3am in the morning #pregnancyinsomnia


next week when it will all be about baby showers and baby school no doubt :)

-A x


206 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page