top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

35.Nesting.In.Full.Force


I cannot believe how fast this trimester is progressing! I have hit the point where I would love baby to make an appearance earlier than planned but maybe give me like another 1-2 weeks to finish my crazy women cleaning spree haha! That's right nesting has hit me and it sounds highly psychotic but I honestly cannot control it, I am cleaning places that have never been cleaned or that I really dont give two shits about haha. When you have the urge you just have to let yourself go even if it makes your feet swell up and every joint in your body ache or you just wont feel satisfied - you may even get quite dissapointed in yourself and feel like crying, honestly pregnancy does weird things to you! Safe to say I only have 1.5 rooms left (which I plan to do today) and I will be so happy haha! Ideally I then want to make some meals for the freezer too and some lunches for when Nic goes back to work :)


What this has meant is that Baby Fels now has his/her first bed all ready for their arrival - we decided on a side-sleep bassinet to have baby in our room for the first wee while and to also make space a bit easier as we do have a small house with teeny bedrooms (our super king bed may also play a factor in this haha). It's super easy to put up and down too so we can use to travel over the summer months if needed.


I FINALLY have my hospital bag ready to go and it feels great! I now feel like whenever baby wants to join us earth side I am prepared (well as much as I can be bahahahaha shit lets be real there is probably a lot more to it than nailing the bag! #smallwins). Its probably a first time mama thing and also paired with OCD that you pack quite a lot (especially as you never know how you will give birth or how long your stay will be in hospital vs birthcare etc). My essentials list for mama and bebe is below:

Mama's Bag:

- Nursing bras or tops

- Comfy clothes and socks (I am not a pants person so for me this is oversize tee dresses primarily but also some tights and simple long tees)

- Feeding snacks to help stimulate milk flow (if you plan to give breast feeding a go)

- Snacks for when in labour for mum and dad some super simple energy fixes I have included for us both

- Toiletries this is just mini sizes of all your nice stuff so when you get that first post birth shower you feel fantastic (handles for the shower too!)

- Postpartum glam essentials for mama (you think birth sounds glam the afterwards doesn't sound much better to be honest haha, if you dont know what these are for you will in-time learn). Maternity pads, breast pads, nipple sheilds, witch hazel or tea tree spray for the va-jj, granny undies at best description or even disposables and nipple cream/sheilds

- Lip balm! This is so little yet so big especially if you plan to be sucking on gas as pain relief

- Then dependant on your labour preferences things to help you through, for me I have a cooling mist spray, heat pack, ice pack, massage oil and music


Baby Fels Bag:

- Capsule or carseat must be in your car or you wont be able to leave hospital haha!

- 2-3x swaddles, wraps or blankets

- 1-2x warm blankets

- Gowns or sleep sacks (kimonos are a good option) so easy access for those first nappy changes aand also for skin to skin time

- Warm clothes as babies dont self regulate early on so warmth is key - short underwear onsie, long sleeve onsie, full onsie with feet and hands ideally, socks or booties, beanie and some merino or wool items (then repeat that 3x for your normal hospital stay time)

- Of course your going home outfit awwww! This will be the fun part to have ready for baby to meet the big wide world and to snap that cute "going home" new family piccy

- You can also pop in the following incase needed or if they are a preference to you - a pacifier, baby bottom cream, name or welcome plaque/card, burp cloths & nappies (the hospital does give you these).


DO NOT forget a camera and charger to capture every possible moment for your memories (even if it aint appropriate for the gram haha!). Big thing to remember that a lot of other mamas have told me is your support people do so well at capturing those first moments of you and bub but don't forget daddys first moments too!


Anyway that has been my week - visits, nesting and prepping! Other than that not too much to report on. This mama is super uncomfortable and braxton hicks are starting to level up with some slight pain associated to them and baby is slightly dropping which can cause lightening crotch (haha an unusual sensation thats like short sharp pains in your pelvis/crotch region). We have our next midwife check in later in the week to see how we aare tracking :)


Next week we will show you Baby Fels nursery its oh so close, yay!!

-A x

Side notes this week:

- One of my beautiful besties Meeks had her baby shower on the weekend and it was so nice to see her surrounded by family and friends and celebrate together. I am so excited to meet Baby Somers and Baby Fels future friend hehe!

- Just Jess aka baby sis is super busy creating donut flavours and I've nailed the taste tester times and managed to turn up for a visit perfectly haha (mmmm warm donuts). Our 35 week bump even featured in the launch of her smores flavour yummmm!

- We caught up with grandad soon to be great-grandad who visited and checked out the nursery and my huge bump, we had a lovely brunch together which was so nice.

- I am loving having to not get up early (not that I sleep much but its nice to just lay in bed haha) and to be able to eat breke each day in the sun - absolute bliss so lapping that up before baby arrives!

- Antenatel classes are going great and we are learning heaps! One thing that makes me even more in awe of the womens body that we talked about this week is how the glands on our breasts produce oil that smells like amniotic fluid so baby is drawn there as its what it has lived and breathed for the last 10 months!! How insanley cool is that!?



112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page