top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

36.Third.Trimester.Turbulance


This week was a tough one emotionally for me, Saturday I had one of those days where pregnancy life had me very overwhelmed. The small things have become super hard or some even pretty much physically impossible and I don't like not being able to do life tasks myself like I usually would - I feel super guilty and lazy when I try to rest but my body is definitely telling me to slow down so I am really going to try and actually binge some netflix this coming week! I have fluid retention that has kicked in around my feet and hands (I actually can only comfortably fit my chucks and handles now haha), my skin is breaking out, weight is packing on and my stretch marks have become a lot more prominent. Its really weird the emotions and thoughts that come along with a changing body, most days I embrace my stretch marks and the adaptions to my body as they are a mark of the beautiful life growing inside me but other days they upset me because I just look so different to "the normal" me and you just want your body back. But I you know what it's ok to have these moments and we all do and I still adore my growing bump and am sure in a few weeks I will miss it haha!


Me being me I of course have a list of things around the house that I want to achieve before baby arrives and this first couple of weeks of maternity leave I have actually smashed through majority of them and it feels great! This week I finished the full house organise and clean so its now just keeping on top of it all which is super easy when your not at work! And I have made a couple of weeks worth of freezer dinners and next week I will do Nic's lunches/snacks :)

The best part being we have finished Baby Fels nursery and are all ready for his or her arrival YAY!!! It is my favourite room in the house and I find my self having my Raspberry Leaf Tea in there sitting on the chair that I will soon be nursing bebe on in the afternoon sun - Its heart warming Bliss! I am super proud of what we have built for the little one and have no doubt that he/she will feel the love and warmth put into it all as it becomes their space. Being a surprise gender baby grey and white are the main theme and decor follows suit, once we know if we have a little son or daughter we will add some pops of colour with accessories no doubt. Besides the INSANE wardrobe that Nic built for baby my favourite things are the shelves above the change table as they really express our personality and the whole feel of the room with photos and adorable decor!

For our change table we used a wide boy set of draws so its future proof for the room and just purchased the Mocka change tray to attach to the top for the first years and it also let us maximise storage space in such a small room. My nursing chair takes up a good quarter of the room but I really wanted one that was super comfortable as I will try spend a lot of time feeding there, I really struggled to find one but I was lucky enough when mum and dad moved they gifted me their chair and it is the most comfortable thing ever so I have popped a cover on it and added some pillows and I LOVE sitting in it looking out the window. Our cot was from baby city and I have also invested in a sleep pod for when we transfer baby from bassinet to cot and to use around the house, it looks so snuggly! I am obsessed with cute pillows (as you can see) so they feature in all soft spaces of this nursery to give it comfort and of course personality (don't worry they will be removed whenever baby is sleeping in those areas haha!). Having Baby Daddy as a sparky also means little ones room features a lot of cool lighting - The wardrobe is complete with strip lighting, Mirror is backlit, canopy has fairy lights for the evening its beautiful!

Nic has set up our baby monitor, it can go in both our room (where it is currently ready for those first months and the bassinet) and the nursery for when baby shifts across. We have a monitor that is compatible with breathing sensor pads for in the bassinet/cot which we are going to give a go and see if we like them for the first stages, its a personal choice as they have pro's and con's but I will give it a go and see if its something we like or dislike :)


We had our last midwife appointment with our backup (Brooke is back from Europe next week yay!!) and everything was completley fine. Baby is in a great position (head down) and is starting to bobble in and out of the pelvis area but not engaged yet which is good as he/she needs to cook for another week or two ideally! Its crazy how little room there is in there and how much more prominent movements then are (the limbs are SO CLOSE to the surface haha!). I have a cute little baby heel under my left rib with the bum on the right and baby loves to stretch and I can actually grab the little heel! sometimes I even give it a tickle or push and it will react back to me its super adorable but also very tender at times haha! Nic thinks it is super creepy hahaha as it sticks out so much but likes to see my belly moving around when baby is flipping or wriggling.


I am SUPER excited now to meet baby and bring the little one into the world, I would like another week so I can actually relax haha and then Baby Fels can grace us with his/her presence anytime because we can't wait!

-A x

Side notes this week:

- I have started to watch the iPad in bed with headphones this week and it actually helps me fall asleep and i then normally get a good 2-2.5 hour stint which is amazing! Then the bladder wakes me up haha (I wee about every 1.5 hours day & night now, this is one thing I can't wait to reduce post birth haha!)

- I miss cuddles with Nic (not that he doesn't give me cuddles at all) more I miss cuddles without a big heavy belly haha! I am looking forward to being able to be a skinny spoon again or actually put my weight on Nics chest and arms without crushing him hahahahaha! Thats what an extra 20kgs of weight on this mama does!

- I have loved being able to have a bath in the early evening or even afternoon but tummy time isn't a thing anymore as it now sticks out too much that it hits the bottom of the bath but its still nice to take the pressure off on my joints an pelvis.

- I officially purchased some nursing bras and clothing items to prepare for when baby arrives, these will make their debut in the hospital bag and then no doubt the hours after.

- Food shopping (actually any walking or shopping) takes me flippin HOURS as I am so slow, you don't realise how slow the waddle is until A) you actually time how long it took you to do your supermarket shop or B) you go out with your sister who has to stop every 50m and actually wait for you because you lag behind every step :P







190 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page