top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

8.Conquering.The.Crossing.

So this week was Easter and a long weekend was exactly what I needed - A few days away from trying to cope in the corporate world while feeling like absolute crap and familarising myself with both the FCB & clients office bathrooms. So far I'm 3 weeks into this permanent hangover and its not that fun!


The Hekkens clan headed to Ohakune for the break to conquer the Tongariro crossing, something we have always wanted to do but never actually got round to it. Jess & Jay organised a cute Chalet for us to reside and we had the best time just being together as a family!


Saturday was D-day - We were up with the sunrise, packs and water loaded and off we went. What a BEAUTIFUL experience and something every New Zealander needs to tick off their bucket list. Experiencing 4 seasons in one day at altitude, the breath taking views, lunch in the craters.. Everything was just awesome. Being pregnant and in my first trimester I was under instructions to ensure my heart rate didn't spike for long periods of time over 165 (I was like oh sweet, thats easy its not often its above that) turns out when your pregnant it happens quite easy with the added pressure on your chest and oh the fact your continually growing another human with your energy, takes a toll apparantley ha! I managed fine it was just on the steep upwards where i had to take regular breather breaks! But so worth it. In all honesty the hardest part was when we got back to base and everyone cracked an ice cold corona (with lime!!) while I sipped on some juice wooo, not.


Safe to say the next day Is when it all hit me, the constant urge to nap, emotions at an all time high and the morning sickness at full speed. I spent Easter Sunday between the couch & bed re-couping all my energy whilst the family went for a spin on the mountain bikes. The crisp air, sun and not being at home made it all so peaceful though. I can't wait till mum & dad live down there as each visit will be like a holiday.

Easter bunny brought this mama to be and the future grand-baby matching Peter Alexander Cloud dressing gowns - BLISS and just super adorable!


This will become my main partner in the winter of pregnancy its just sooooo snugg. Safe to say that I tried it out in the crisp Ohakune air while recovering all day Sunday and she works like a charm haha!


Overall amazing weekend with my beautiful family, so much love & laughter - Can't wait for the next one!

-A x



112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page