top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama.Ash.x

7.My.Midwife.

Choosing a midwife can be hard, and the crazy thing is they book up so fast to the point where it leaves you wondering if people book them in before they officially get a positive test on a whim! Actually I have learnt there is just not enough of them to go around - So my advice to any future mums as soon as you see those two lines start looking into it!


was lucky enough that a lovely girl at Gentle Birth that was recommended to me was available for my pregnancy - Brooke. I feel like she is perfect for me, shes calming, quiet natured and radiates kindness and love. A good balance for a personality like me lets just say :P My first official appointment with Brooke was great, we went through all the questions and advice for pregnancy - What to eat, what not to eat, how you'll feel, whats normal and what could be a risk etc. We then spent time talking though all the upcoming scans & tests for the first trimester so I could start to book those in.



I came out of there feeling confident and supported, currently I have appointments with her every 4 weeks and as we progress into the 2nd trimester these will become a lot more exciting, listening to babys heart beat and tracking movements etc. For now they are just initial tests and results and to help you through any new feelings and situations that arise.


I am really happy I made the decision to go with a midwife over an obstetrician, for me it feels as though we are in a partnership and the support and time invested gives me confidence, alongside then having hospital resource readily livable if and when required. I feel that for me a private doctor feels as though its just a day job vs a passion/lifestyle. That's not to say they are not right for anyone its just how i feel and when your going through sometime as life changing as pregnancy i truly believe it should be right for you and what you feel only, not swayed by what others think or do as that's what will give you the best experience and therefore your family.

-A x

117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page